Stream Baby Stream: In Praise Of Peppa Pig

Welcome to Stream Baby Stream, a new weekly column about the strange, endearing and often-surprising world of kids’ entertainment.

She radiates self-confidence. She’s unafraid to get dirty. And she doesn’t just laugh, she snorts – loudly and proudly.

We should all aim to be a little more like Peppa Pig.

When I became a parent a couple years ago, I think I’d convinced myself the only good kids’ entertainment was the stuff I grew up with: classic eps of The Muppet Show, Rankin-Bass specials, Q*Bert¹, what have you. But now that my daughter can sit still for, oh, 20 seconds at a time, I’m discovering there are far more intelligent and engaging kids’ shows now than there were back in the days of disco and DuckTales.

So let’s start with my own toddler’s fave: Peppa Pig. For the uninitiated, Peppa is a British cartoon about a bold ‘n’ chatty young pig, her pig family and her menagerie of anthropomorphic pals. In each five-minute episode, the gang embarks on a new adventure, like going ice skating, visiting Daddy Pig’s office or taking a helicopter ride.


I’m not sure where I first stumbled upon Peppa, but I’m guessing it was either via a) YouTube, where users have uploaded hours upon hours of it; or b) Nick Jr., which airs the show several times a day.

Peppa was an instant hit in our household – so much so that it forced me to instill serious screen-time limits. Pre-Peppa, my daughter would glance at videos but eventually lose interest and go throw some blocks around. And post-Peppa? Well, not a day goes by that I don’t hear about her.

And honestly, I don’t really mind. Created in 2004 by animation studio Astley Baker Davies, Peppa Pig is just funny and weird enough to demand my attention, too. The simple animation reminds me of vintage ‘toons – no CGI here – and the writers clearly aim to entertain parents as well as the kids. While my daughter adores Peppa and her BFF Suzy Sheep, I’m wooed by more fringe characters like Mr. Potato, a walking, mustachioed spud with a voice that sounds like Antonio Banderas.


Peppa Pig has given my daughter’s speech a British flair—she’ll rave to you about beans on toast though she’s never tried it—and playtime inspiration. The other day I watched her stomp on an empty cardboard box, grin and declare she was “jumping in muddy puddles.” That’s pure Peppa.

As with any modern-day children’s franchise, once you get hooked on the ‘toon, it can open up a wily wormhole of merchandise. I’ve managed to avoid most Peppa products, but I will say I threw a Peppa-themed birthday party recently that went over quite well with the little ladies and lads.

Here in the real world, Peppa’s critics have argued the program lacks educational value and, uh, “pushes a weird feminist line.” I’d say programming that encourages exploration and self-assurance is certainly educational, while the latter comment just makes me snort like a … well, you know.

Peppa Pig has taught me a few things, too. For instance, no matter what the narrative, many of its episodes end with the whole Pig clan falling to the floor, laughing their heads off. If we humans ended our stress-filled days like this, our world might be a much jollier place indeed.

Dig Peppa? Try these, too:

Olivia. If precocious pigs are your bag, dip into this animated adaptation of the popular book series. While I prefer the print version – Olivia’s colorful personality seems a little watered down onscreen – I do appreciate how much of this show focuses on the power of Olivia’s imagination.

Grownup trivia: Olivia’s grandmother is voiced by Yvonne Craig, an actress best known for playing Batgirl on the ‘60s Batman TV series. [Where to stream Olivia]

Room on the Broom. Chances are, you own a copy of this best-selling picture book, which resurfaces around Halloween each year. The clever animated adaptation has an all-star cast that includes Simon Pegg, Gillian Anderson, Rob Brydon and Sally Hawkins.
Grownup trivia: Max Lang has directed two animated shorts: Broom and The Gruffalo. Both were nominated for Academy Awards. [Where to stream Room On The Broom]

Paddington. Decades before Paddington Bear was rendered in CGI, the marmalade-loving mammal starred in his own charming series of five-minute stop-motion shorts. A kind YouTube user has uploaded all 56 episodes (they’re also on DVD), which transport me right back to my 6-year-old bedroom.
Grownup trivia: The series is narrated by veteran actor Sir Michael Hordern, whose many roles included portraying Gandalf in the BBC Radio’s popular adaptation of Lord of the Rings. [Where to stream Paddington Bear]

¹Have you re-watched Q*Bert lately? It was not a good show.

Whitney Matheson (@whitneymatheson) is a pop-culture writer and mother of a 2-year-old. She brings home the bacon in Brooklyn, N.Y.