Amazon Enlists Woody Allen To Write And Direct Original Series

Amazon will drop a slew of new pilots on Amazon Prime Instant Video on Thursday, but they just announced some other big news this morning: Woody Allen has received a full series order from the behemoth’s original programming department. According to Variety, a half-hour series, currently titled “Untitled Woody Allen Project” (catchy!) will hit Amazon… sometime in the future.

There’s literally no other information, except that VP of Amazon Studios Roy Price calls it “an honor to be working with [Allen] on his first television series.” Allen, who also released a statement about the project, simply said, “I don’t know how I got into this. I have no ideas and I’m not sure where to begin. My guess is that Roy Price will regret this.”

Just to remind you: Variety reported this, not The Onion. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see what happens!

 

Like what you see? Follow Decider on Facebook and Twitter to join the conversation, and sign up for our email newsletters to be the first to know about streaming movies and TV news!