My First Time

My First Time … Watching ‘Godspell’: Adults Made This For Other Adults

Where to Stream:

Godspell

Powered by Reelgood

Jesus Christ Superstar isn’t the only musical about our lord and savior from the early ’70s. While Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice’s rock opera offered a controversial and dark interpretation of the last week of Jesus’ life, Stephen Schwartz’s Godspell brings a decidedly more cheerful and stripped-down retelling of the Gospel of St. Matthew, alternating performances of parables with saccharine-sweet songs. Originating as book writer John-Michael Tebelak’s master’s thesis when he was at Carnegie Mellon University, the show was first performed in New York at the downtown experimental theater space La Mama in 1971 about six months before Lloyd Webber and Rice’s concept album became a full-fledged musical on Broadway.

The show was a hit off-Broadway and became an internationally beloved musical; its Toronto production in 1972 starred many Second City performers before they were stars, including Eugene Levy, Andrea Martin, Martin Short, Dave Thomas, and Gilda Radner. That production also featured Victor Garber, who would star in the 1973 movie musical (which hit theaters a few months before Norman Jewison’s adaptation of Jesus Christ Superstar).

While there are many parallels between the two films, I’ve always personally been Team JCS. But I must admit: I’ve never seen Godspell — that is, until today. And, boy, what a… thing is it. Join me as I unpack my thoughts below.

This movie really does have an auspicious opening, huh? A weirdly dressed individual walks from Brooklyn into Manhattan, bringing quirk and whimsy along with him in order to brainwash the otherwise normal denizens of the city into following him and his big-haired leader. How prescient.

A copy of Backstage? This gal looks like a prime target for whatever brand of crazy our Brooklyn ringleader is trying to sell.

“Hey, ever feel like you’re just one of the crowd? Like you’re not really standing out? Wearing the same crocheted hat as every other blondie in line for an audition? Then come along and join the ranks of Jesus, which is definitely accepting of everyone and in no way places scorn on those who want to express themselves and their unique identities.”

If you weren’t already feeling ill at ease, this guy is just popping up in the most unexpected places, offering up some of that casual ’70s street harassment, but with a twist: he’s on the inside looking out! Join him, won’t you?

Welp, we’re ten minutes in and someone has finally started singing. Unfortunately that person has also ruined Central Park for me.

After the creepy bandleader assembles a small gathering of disciples and convinces them to frolic in a fountain, here comes a shirtless, face-painted, afroed Victor Garber. This, ladies and gentleman, is our Jesus.

So, you’re telling me that Victor Garber in Godspell is who inspired Barbra Streisand’s look from the cover of her Superman album???

Huh, alright. I’m interested. Go on.

What I’m learning here is this: Hair was super fun, but what if we took away all of the subversive political commentary and the nudity and instead added religious parables? (Also, sorry for the blurry screenshots throughout this post but these people will NOT STAND STILL.)

I think it’s the right moment to admit that I have absolutely no idea what the hell is happening. In between songs and running around, these people are digging through garbage and reciting Biblical parables? Here’s a lesson for you: One man’s trash is another man’s Godspell.

But at least The Chief from Where in the World Is Carmen Sandiego? is here. I suppose things could be much worse: she could have brought along Rockapella to sing with the rest of these dummies.

That feeling when you’re stuck watching Godspell? (I guess that was too easy.)

WHAT DOES THIS HAVE TO DO WITH JESUS. This movie is starting to feel a lot like The Warriors. Are they going to take over the city or something?

And here we go: the reason why I’ve had “Day by Day” stuck in my head for the last five hours. At least when Wet Hot American Summer did it over a decade ago they eased my pain with some jokes.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqEHaQ1RbME]

I am starting to pick up on some plot here: this guy is supposed to be Judas? I can tell because he’s the most attractive and, like with Carl Anderson in Jesus Christ Superstar, I’m secretly rooting for him.

Ha ha ha, did I say I was secretly rooting for Judas? Look at Jesus. Come on. Come onnnnnn. I am going to assume this ends as I expect it to, only does Judas have the rest of these weirdos killed, too?

Now we’ve got a guy with a recorder? I can’t do this. I really can’t handle it. I already went to Sunday School once, you know? I’m a grown-ass man.

Alright, you know what? This is where I draw the line. I try to be a professional, I really do. I want to finish every movie I start so I can give a reasoned, thoughtful critique of it! Yet, with Godspell, I cannot do such a thing. This movie was made by adults for other adults but the adults who enjoy it have the brain capacity of newborns who want to roll around in garbage and piece together outfits from discarded wash rags. No thank you! I love fun, but this is not my idea of fun. Godspell is my idea of Hell. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go listen to some Yvonne Elliman and cleanse my soul.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lS2nX4fuzqc]

 

Like what you see? Follow Decider on Facebook and Twitter to join the conversation, and sign up for our email newsletters to be the first to know about streaming movies and TV news!

Photos: Columbia Pictures