Why The Cast Of ‘Younger’ Is Totally Cool With Getting Older

Where to Stream:

Younger

Powered by Reelgood

Younger is a sweet and sexy sitcom that focuses on one woman’s journey to reclaim herself…in the guise of a much younger woman. Sutton Foster stars as Liza Miller, a fresh-faced 40-year-old divorcée who decides to masquerade as a 20-something hipster in order to land a job at a publishing company. It seems like a brilliant idea until she realizes that she has to lie to just about everyone to keep it all going.

Season two of the series debuted on TV Land last week and follows what happens now that Liza’s steaming hot tattoo artist boyfriend knows he’s dating an older woman. It also features hilarious moments of campy comedy, some stringent satire, and friction between younger and older generations of women.

Liza might be living it up as a 20-something, but would the cast of Younger ever consider posing as a younger age? How about lying about their age? The answer is a resounding…no.

When we spoke to the cast and showrunner Darren Star last month, everyone unanimously said that they had never lied about their age — except to maybe get into a bar when they were underage.

Star lamented, “I lied all the time from the age to 15 or 16 to get into the bar – but now I can’t lie about my age! It’s on IMDB!”

“But as I got older, I never lied because I was like proud of every year. Like, I still feel that way. I was never one to be ashamed of getting older. I was excited about it!” said Foster.

Working on the show has given some cast members cause to reflect on their past and if anything it seemed like the cast of Younger was relieved to leave the awkwardness of their past behind.

“I feel like it makes you appreciate where you are a little bit more when you look back at where you were,” said Miriam Shor. “There might be some outfits [I’d go back and change]. Like maybe, you should have worn pants with that.”

Hilary Duff jumped in and said, “[Miriam] was trying to tell me the other day, ‘You didn’t have an awkward stage.’ We need to go sit and go on Google together because all of mine are documented! My whole awkward stage is fucking documented!”

Shor laughed and said, “But I don’t think America could have handled my awkward stage. It was real awkward.”

“Oh! I had like three sets of chopsticks in my hair!” protested Duff. “With crimped bits! And a mismatched outfit!”

You can stream the first few episodes of this season of Younger for free at TVLand.com. Click here to catch up.

[Where to Stream Younger]

[Photo: Getty Images]