Is ‘The X-Files’ Reboot Worth The Watch Without The Nostalgia Glasses?

Where to Stream:

The X-Files

Powered by Reelgood

In the never-ending stream of nostalgia-based content, Fox’s reboot of The X-Files has been getting a lot of hype. It makes sense — the show was an innovative pop culture hit that transformed the current TV environment while helping to bring sci-fi into the mainstream. Also, there was some serious Scully and Mulder will-they, won’t-they action that dominated 90’s conversations. At least, that’s what’s been explained to me.

Here is what I personally remember from The X-Files: If the theme music came on, that meant it was time for me to go to bed. I missed the entire X-Files craze, and, unlike many people my age, I never sought out the truth. Until now. I wanted to see if The X-Files reboot would hold up for someone who has no emotional connection to the series, and this is what I found. Mild spoilers ahead.

THE GOOD

When it comes to reboots, it’s really hard to reintroduce characters without it coming across as clunky, but the series cleared this hurdle pretty well. Mulder’s (David Duchovny) introduction at the pilot’s beginning, though it had the potential to be really cheesy, had the proper amounts of winking nostalgia and genuinely helpful catch-up material. The same can be said with The X-Files’ person of interest, Sveta (Annett Mahendru. Sveta is allegedly part alien, and her extraterrestrial DNA seems to give her some range of psychic powers, such as moving objects and mind-reading. It’s this last power that lets us know why we should cross out those Mulder + Scully 4 ever doodles from out notebooks.

Another thing I enjoyed was the show’s high production value. Episodes almost watch like a movie, and the CGI was on point. This is especially helpful in the realm of sci-fi, where the suspension of disbelief can be immediately broken by a spaceship that looks like it was made of papier-mâché. Also, using the original theme music was a genius decision, and it’s a decision that die-hard fans clearly appreciate.

However, I know the big question on your mind is “Are Mulder and Scully worth the 2016 emotional investment?” This one is tricky to answer because there is so very much history, but I’m giving it a tentative yes. It almost immediately became clear that I was missing big swatches from the pair’s rocky relationship history, but from what I watched, it was clear that there is some intense sexual tension going on. This is helped by the fact that both Duchovny and Gillian Anderson look damn good both alone and together, but take this with a grain of salt. I have a soft spot for the gruff outlaw guy and the hyper-professional lady.

Speaking of Scully, Anderson’s performance is definitely my favorite parts of the series. Everything about her performance balanced between exhaustion and passion, which is probably how I’d feel if I spent over a decade with Mulder. And unlike the oversized jackets and computer-matching blouses of the past, Scully’s current wardrobe is perfection.

THE BAD

Maybe this speaks to my lack of X-Files experience, but the pacing of the pilot took me by surprise. The first 20 to 25 minutes had a nice, gradual pace, but then there was a five minute period of Mulder and Tad O’Malley (Joel McHale) explaining conspiracy theory on conspiracy theory that lost me. It was just a lot of information at once, and though I followed along at the time, I don’t think I can tell you the specifics of any of their points without rewatching. I’m hoping the mansplain-y scene is similar to the first episode of Archer: Miami Vice, which showed an extended montage of action sequences that all happened later in the series. Fingers crossed.

On to actor specific criticisms, I had a hard time separating Joel McHale from his Community role as Jeff Winger, but that may just be me. Also, after my roommate mentioned that Scully’s face rarely moves, I couldn’t stop noticing it. This wasn’t exactly a bad thing because it added to her stoic character, and the choice adds another level of depth during her arguments with Mulder. Still, it was a bit distracting.

Most Pilot-y Line:

O’Malley: You ran the X-Files. You were the X-Files. You all but wrote the book.

Mulder: I’m afraid that book is closed.

THE WHAT?

There are two big reveals in this first episode, and both surprised me, especially since the first one upset the entire premise of the series. However, it was the second twist that pushed the show from “Would Watch Again” to “Need To See Episode Two.” Also, watching this episode has made me question the origin of some of my favorite pop culture characters. For example, was Dib from Invader Zim just cartoon, Johonen Vasquez Mulder? Probably.

Fave obscure moment: In Scully and Mulder’s abandoned office there are a ton of pencils hanging from the ceiling. I have no idea who did that and why no one took those pencils down, but I love that this detail exists during a very dramatic moment.

FINAL VERDICT

I’ll definitely be watching this miniseries, and I think it’s worth a watch for the uninitiated. If you like conspiracy theories, twists, drama, aliens, and sexy professionals, this is a show you need to watch or watch again. Also, because it’s a continuation, you have an entire universe to explore if the first two episodes of the miniseries leave you wanting more. If you go in as a newbie, here’s what you need to know:

  • Mulder and Scully have serious tension, and they’re who you’re rooting for.
  • Don’t get too bogged down by the details. They’ll be re-explained.
  • Pay attention during Mulder and Scully’s conversations. There are many meaningful pauses and looks.

Other than that, go on and search for the truth. As you know, it’s still out there.

[Where to watch The X-Files]

[Watch The X-Files miniseries on Hulu]

Photos: Hulu