Jack Quaid Talks ‘Vinyl’ And What It Was Like Auditioning In Front Of Martin Scorsese

Where to Stream:

Vinyl

Powered by Reelgood

At just 23 years old, Jack Quaid (yes, son of Dennis Quaid and Meg Ryan) has starred in a blockbuster franchise, earned a couple of writing credits, and worked with Martin Scorsese. Not too shabby for someone who kicked off their career just four years ago. But The Hunger Games star (Quaid played arrow-slinging tribute, Marvel) has moved on from earth-shaking YA adaptations to HBO’s sex, drugs, and rock n’ roll ode to the ’70s: Vinyl.

Set in 1973 New York City, Vinyl — developed by Martin Scorsese, Terence Winter, Mick Jagger, and Rich Cohen — follows floundering record label executive, Richie Finestra (Bobby Cannavale), as he tries to reinvent his failing company and turn no name rock n’ roll wannabes into the next Robert Plant. Featuring a supporting cast of Ray Romano, Olivia Wilde, Max Casella, Juno Temple, James Jagger, Jack Quaid, and more; the ensemble drama has already been renewed for a second season, immediately following the series premiere.

I chatted with Jack Quaid over the phone to hear more about the path that led him to audition in front of Martin Scorsese, what it’s like playing young, in-over-his-head record label assistant, Clark Morelle; and what the cast is actually snorting when they have to do all that cocaine.

Jack Quaid as Clark Morelle in Vinyl.Photo: HBO

Decider: Congrats on the series!

Jack Quaid: Yeah. It’s nuts. I’m freaking out about it. It’s crazy.

How was it getting to go back to the ’70s?

Well, that was a trip. I mean, it got to the point where the set is so decked out with detail and everyone from the principle cast to the background actors are in all of these crazy ’70s pieces, that it started to become like the crew was the odd thing in the room because they looked more modern. It’s weird because I almost got hypnotized into believing that it was the ’70s for a little while and then you leave set and you’d be reminded that, for just that second, you lived in the era. And these alien people — these future people — were helping you out. So it was crazy. I loved it.

What kind of research did you do?

I did a lot of research. I watched a lot of movies. To kind of get a feel for New York City at that time I watched Klute and to and to get an identity for the decade I watched the documentary, Woodstock, which is the late ’60s, I know. Then I watched Gimme Shelter, which is the Rolling Stones at the Altamont Speedway and it kind of gave me a really cool window into the cultural shift that happened back then. So it was like the free loving ’60s and then it quickly became the dark early ’70s and that really helped me nail down the identity for the decade.

And then for the business itself, I read a lot of books. Most notably, one that they had us all read to a certain degree, was this book called Hit Men: Power Brokers and Fast Money Inside the Music Business. It kind of outlined the power players throughout the record industry, especially in the ’70s, and what they were all about.

[My dad] played The Ramones, he played The Doors and that’s the music I grew up with: music from a different time.

One of the things I like about the show is the blurring of reality and fiction. Do you know if your character is based on anyone specific?

I don’t know if he’s based on anyone specific, but there were definitely guys like Clark back in those days. I think in any job there are people who are, you know, kind of the climber — people who are trying to get ahead or get ahead of you and trying to know what’s going on so they can preserve their job. And I think Clark is more of an office archetype than a music archetype. When I was filming, I got the hint from the people who were around back then that they definitely met a guy like Clark before. So I’d say that there are a lot of similarities to people who would have had that job back then.

I read that you auditioned in front of Scorsese in his hotel room? How did you prepare for that? That sounds terrifying.

I did, yeah. I know it was crazy. Well, I prepared for it the same way that I prepare for every audition. I remember that I went to an audition coach right beforehand just so that I could do the scene in front of a person before I had to do it in front of the person. I was so nervous and I did a lot of pacing in the yard outside of the little villa room he was staying in. Then I finally went in and he was such an affable, great guy. He immediately put me at ease and the nerves, thankfully, went away. Or at least enough to where I could do my job, basically.

Do you have a favorite Scorsese project or movie?

Oh, man. I mean, I’ve got to go with Goodfellas. Goodfellas and The Departed. The Departed was the first Scorsese movie I really saw because it came out when I was a little younger and then, through there, it was the gateway drug into Scorsese and Scorsese’s cannon. And then I watched Goodfellas and Mean Streets and all of those great movies. But I think Goodfellas is my favorite.

“My dad would drive me to school and play classic rock.” Jack Quaid poses with his father, Dennis, at an event in October.Photo: Getty

Had you kind of been exposed to music of the late ’60s and early ’70s before or did you really have to kind of listen up?

JQ: No, I was actually very exposed when I was a kid in the ’90s. Boy bands were kind of the thing, but I was never really into that music at the time. So my dad would drive me to school and play classic rock. He played The Ramones, he played The Doors and that’s the music I grew up with: music from a different time. The first album I ever bought was AC/DC’s Back in Black so that was kind of the birth of me as a music listener, were songs from this decade, specifically. And that was great because it’s helped tremendously now.

I’ve only ever done fake cocaine. So there would be moments on set where I’d do it and be like, ‘Guys does this seem right?’

That’s awesome. So you guys snort a lot of cocaine on the show [laughs]. But what are you actually snorting?

It’s either baby lactate formula or vitamin B.

That’s crazy. Because you can really see it has an effect.

Yeah, well there’s definitely that sensation of, essentially, sand going through your sinuses. I mean, so that’s real. But it’s not cocaine. It’s weird, because I’ve never done cocaine, I’ve only ever done fake cocaine [laughs]. So there would be moments on set where I’d do it and be like, “Guys does this seem right?” I kind of had to learn. But yeah, it was crazy just to snort vitamins though. It was healthy! [laughs]

Jack Quaid as Clark Morelle, Juno Temple as Jamie Vine.Photo: HBO

I think one of the things that’s enjoyable about Vinyl is seeing all of the acclaimed directors behind each episode. Is there anyone, besides Scorsese, you were really excited to work with who you maybe wouldn’t have gotten the chance to work with otherwise?

Yeah, they’re amazing. I mean, I was excited to work with everybody. They’re all incredible directors. But once I found out Jon Baird was going to direct one of our episodes… I knew he had directed this movie, Filth, which is incredible so I was really excited about that just because I knew the kind of style he would do it in and I was really excited to see that episode.

So I read that you took your mom to the premiere? How’s it been getting to show this off to your parents?

I did, I did. That was great. I was there with her and a few of my friends and it was just an amazing night. I’m glad she got to see it then. It was awesome. They really like the show and yeah, it’s nice… They’re happy for their kid. You know, they’re proud. Nothing but support from them, especially with the show. It’s been great.

I know you’ve had experience on franchise films and now you’re part of a major production show, but I really liked your performance in Courteney Cox’s movie, Just Before I Go, and I noticed you worked on some of your own projects. Can you talk about transitioning between all of these different worlds?

Oh, thank you! Well, I think one of the things with me, as an actor, is that I constantly want to be producing my own work as well. So in between projects that are out of my hands, that someone else is in charge of, I like to write. I like to write short films, sketches, and just put stuff out there. I’m a big fan of telling stories when I’m not an actor telling a story that way. It keeps me busy. It’s one of these things that I feel, as an actor or as an artist in general, you need to practice. It’s been great. It’s done a lot of good for me. I’ve really loved that.

[Stream Vinyl on HBO NOW and HBO Go]

This interview has been edited and condensed.

Photos: HBO