What’s It Like Being The Person Who Introduces ‘Marvel’s Jessica Jones’ To The World Of ‘Daredevil’?

Where to Stream:

Daredevil

Powered by Reelgood

Season two of Daredevil debuted on Netflix on Friday, March 18th. The following article includes spoilers from all episodes of the new season.

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

Poor Marci Stahl had a thankless role to play in season one of Daredevil. She was Matt and Foggy’s snappy law school classmate who turned on Landman and Zack and helped bring down Wilson Fisk’s crime organization. She also torpedoed her own career in the process. Not only that, but she clearly has an unrequited crush on Foggy.

Matt and Foggy might have forgotten Marci’s contribution to the cause, but the Daredevil showrunners haven’t. Actress Amy Rutberg was brought back in season two for the auspicious honor of linking the Daredevil with a specific part of the larger Netflix/Marvel universe. When we see her again in season two, Marci announces that she’s landed on her feet at Jeri Hogarth’s (Carrie-Anne Moss) firm (aka the one from Marvel’s Jessica Jones).

When we asked her on the Daredevil red carpet what it was like getting to join the firm of Hogarth, Chao and Benowitz, she gushed, “Isn’t it exciting? I totally work for them now!” Rutberg continued, “I’m beyond excited. That’s the best place for Marci to end up. From Marci’s perspective and from Amy’s perspective.”

Yeah, that’s great, what might be even better is becoming the first person in Daredevil to say the name “Jessica Jones.” Sure, Rosario Dawson exists in both Netflix Marvel series, but Rutberg gets to introduce the world of Marvel’s Jessica Jones to the landscape of Daredevil.

“It was amazingly exciting when I saw that,” Rutberg remembered. “I don’t even get to hold the script. It’s on an embedded, encrypted website on my computer. You can’t even maximize the font, so I’m like, ‘Does that say what I think it does?’ Jessica Jones hadn’t come out yet, so I didn’t know!”

Most of Rutberg’s scenes are with series regular Elden Henson, who plays Foggy Nelson. “Elden gets full scripts. So whenever I see Elden, I’m like, ‘What happens? WHAT HAPPENS?’ And he’s like, ‘I’m just reading my stuff, man! I don’t know!'”

Rutberg also joked about her chemistry with Henson — whom we may see show up at Hogarth, Chao and Benowitz in future Netflix Marvel series. “I love working with Elden,” she added. “I met Elden on my first day of shooting in season one and it was almost six weeks to the day that I had my baby. I was sitting in the make up chair and Elden comes in. He’s like, ‘Man, I’m exhausted. I just had a baby. It was seven weeks ago and I’m not sleeping well.’ I was like, ‘Wait. You just had a baby? No, I just had a baby.'”

[Watch Daredevil on Netflix]