Julie Klausner Talks Possible Direction For ‘Difficult People’ Season Three And Her Emmy Predictions

Where to Stream:

Difficult People

Powered by Reelgood

Though a third season for Difficult People has yet to be announced, Hulu is almost guaranteed to renew the series. With glowing critical reviews and a Rotten Tomatoes score of 100 percent, Julie Klausner and Billy Eichner’s gleefully barbed, in-the-know comedy is one of Hulu’s strongest original series as well as one of the most fun comedies on streaming. At the High Maintenance red carpet, which Klausner attended, Decider was able to talk to the creator and comedian about possible directions for Season Three as well as Emmy predictions. Season Two spoilers ahead.

When asked about possible Season Three directions, Klausner said, “You know, my character now has a story in development at Josh Gad’s fictional production company, Gadzooks, so we can learn a lot about that slippery slope,” referring to a plot that takes place in Season Two’s finale. “Or we could just make a lot more jokes about filthy gay sex and throwing up. There are dogs, the dogs are very funny. We want to have more guest stars, preferably people who are like half EGOTs like Nathan Lane, and we want them to do really silly, dumb things.”

One of the show’s shining Season Two moments was when Julie and Billy tricked Lane into sticking his hand in a toilet for charity, almost killing him. If there are going to be more of those moments, we’re already on board.

“We’re thinking about introducing a talking toilet character. He works at the cafe,” Klausner joked.

Decider also asked the pop culture savvy creator and actress about her 2016 Emmy predictions: “My predictions are that [Paul] Giamatti will text me and ask me to go out, and I’ll say sure,” she said.

As for who will win, Klausner had this to say: “I think Fargo will win a lot of stuff, deservedly so. I love Fargo. I love Better Call Saul this year. As far as comedies … I hope Baskets wins something this year. I love Baskets. It’s one of my favorite new shows,” she said. “It’s also like a hard comedy, which I appreciate.” We’ll definitely be following Klausner’s Twitter predictions and reactions come Sunday.

The 68th Primetime Emmy Awards premiere Sunday, September 18 at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT on ABC.

[Where to watch Difficult People]