‘Stranger Things’ Star Millie Bobby Brown Tells NYCC Fan “I Have Really Good Parents” During Week of Scandal

Where to Stream:

Stranger Things

Powered by Reelgood

Stranger Things stars Millie Bobby Brown and David Harbour appeared at New York Comic Con today for a panel moderated by Vulture TV critic Matt Zoller Seitz. During the length of the very silly hour-long event, the actors joked about their process on set, addressed the “Justice for Barb” movement, and revealed some tidbits about Season Two.

However, when a fan cutely asked Brown if she could adopt her — the fan also wanted to be adopted by Harbour — the actress said, “I’m sorry. I have really good parents and also Aaron Paul is already my fake adopted parent at the moment.” It was a totally off-hand comment about her parents that only seems interesting since her father drew heavy criticism earlier this week for asking for an astronomical advance to sign her to a new agency. The move prompted many industry insiders to raise their eyebrows and got gossips wondering if Brown has domineering stage parents using her for a quick buck. So I guess everyone can chill out? (And if her parents are that bad, Aaron Paul can rescue her???)

On a lighter note, the question also gave Harbour a chance to address “the ‘daddy’ thing” percolating around his character, Sheriff Hopper, on the internet. He joked, “There’s two versions of this, everyone, and I get them confused very much! One of them is like you’re an attractive older man and the other is, ‘Dad….‘ On twitter, some people are like, ‘Oh, Dad...’ Like I’m the dumb parent who’s driving you to movies.”

Speaking of Hopper’s “dad” status, both Harbour and Brown were coy when a fan suggested that Season Two might see the bereaved father Hopper adopt the wayward Eleven. “I mean, I will say that there would be a rich emotional arc there that I’d love to explore,” said Harbour. Brown explained that she couldn’t even confirm that she’d seen any new scripts since it would confirm that Eleven returns — but when Harbour said he’d gotten a few new scripts, she slipped and said, “We did!” Harbour called the early storylines “insane.” He also said that the show would be exploring the love triangle between Nancy/Jonathan/Steve for “seasons” plural to come.

And what of the most popular character on Stranger Things? What about Barb? The first fan question of the day was, “Will we ever see Justice for Barb?” Harbour answered, “We do deal with the loose ends in Season Two and we do deal with the internet rage over Barb’s death. So we will have ‘Justice for Barb’ in some sense, but those of you wishing that Barb somehow magically comes back to the show, I can assure you that Barb is very much dead.”

“Did the Barb thing catch you by surprise?” Seitz asked.

Harbour laughed. “Totally by surprise!”

Brown chimed in and said, “Actually when we were in the read through, [Barb actress Shannon Purser] said, ‘Guys, I don’t want to die!’ I was like, ‘Uhhh..'”

Brown also praised Purser’s Barb face and did her own impression at one point.

Over the course of the Q&A, Harbour outed himself as an avid Dungeons & Dragons nerd. (“Cleric for life!” he shouted.) Brown’s favorite fandoms? The Walking Dead, Pokemon, and The Vampire Diaries. She even got adorably excited when Harbour reveled that he might be able to introduce her to star Paul Wesley when they return to Atlanta to shoot Season Two.

Finally, Brown used the occasion to set the record straight on her love/hate relationship with Eggos. “I like them. I do. I do not like how many I eat. The amount I eat is actually really hard to digest…It does taste really nice, but not like 15 times,” said Brown. “And I like the blueberry flavor.”

“I will say though that I like every single cigarette I smoke,” Harbour said to laughter from the crowd.

Stranger Things returns to Netflix next year. Click here for everything we know so far! 

[Watch Stranger Things on Netflix]