Stephen Baldwin Slams Brother Alec’s “Nasty,” “Not Funny” Donald Trump Impression

Where to Stream:

Saturday Night Live

Powered by Reelgood

There’s no doubt that the 2016 presidential election is dividing our nation along all sorts of painful lines, but it seems to have also torn the Baldwin brothers asunder. By now, everyone is familiar with noted liberal Alec Baldwin’s bombastic Donald Trump impression on Saturday Night Live and not everyone is a fan. Uproxx reports that Celebrity Apprentice alum and noted Trump-supporter Stephen Baldwin was asked about his big brother’s impression after the debate last night and he had this to say:

“Well he’s got the voice down very well. I think it’s getting a little too nasty right now. And I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: What do I think about Alec Baldwin’s impersonation of Donald Trump and SNL and everything they’re doing? I don’t want to be a party pooper here, but I don’t think it’s very funny. I don’t think there’s anything funny about this election.”

After that, Baldwin pivoted to the serious matters at hand and implored millennials and undecided voters to really consider the choice at hand. That’s fair and great, but I do think it’s funny that Stephen Baldwin calls his own brother by his first and last name. (I mean, that’s weird, right?)

It’s worth noting that Baldwin’s impression might also be stolen from another performer: Anthony Atamanuik. Decider spoke with the comic last month and he noted that he had auditioned to be on Saturday Night Live this summer with his Trump and his Alec Baldwin impressions. He told us: “I think I might be the only person in the history of SNL where I auditioned to do an impression, [also] did an impression of another celebrity, and then that celebrity got cast to do the impression I do.”

Alec Baldwin is set to return to Saturday Night Live to play Donald Trump this weekend. Tom Hanks is the guest host.

[Where to Stream Saturday Night Live]