Decider After Dark

That Infamous ‘Last Tango In Paris’ Butter Scene Wasn’t Actually Rape — But It’s Definitely Not OK

Where to Stream:

Last Tango In Paris

Powered by Reelgood

Twitter was ablaze with rightful outrage this weekend when Yahoo posted a video of Last Tango in Paris director Bernardo Bertolucci, from a 2013 interview, where he admits that he and star Marlon Brando planned the infamous butter sex scene without filling actress Maria Schneider in on the details.

While Schnieder, who passed away in 2011, told the Daily Mail in 2007 that no actual intercourse took place, she recalled still feeling “a little raped” by her co-star and director on the 1972 film.

“That scene wasn’t in the original script. The truth is it was Marlon who came up with the idea. They only told me about it before we had to film the scene and I was so angry. I should have called my agent or had my lawyer come to the set because you can’t force someone to do something that isn’t in the script, but at the time, I didn’t know that. Marlon said to me: ‘Maria, don’t worry, it’s just a movie,’ but during the scene, even though what Marlon was doing wasn’t real, I was crying real tears. I felt humiliated and to be honest, I felt a little raped, both by Marlon and by Bertolucci. After the scene, Marlon didn’t console me or apologise. Thankfully, there was just one take.”

Well, Bertolucci got what he wanted, as he explained, “I wanted her reaction as a girl, not as an actress. I wanted her to react humiliated.” He goes on to say that he does feel guilty, but ultimately did not regret shooting the scene that way.

Stars such as Chris Evans and Jessica Chastain reacted with anger and disgust over the news on Twitter.

[Watch Last Tango in Paris on Amazon Video]

Watch 'Last Tango in Paris' on Amazon Video