Will Danny Return For The Final Season Of ‘The Mindy Project’? Chris Messina Weighs In!

Where to Stream:

The Mindy Project

Powered by Reelgood

Hulu recently announced that The Mindy Project would return in September for it’s sixth and final season to wrap up the hilarious ride that Dr. Mindy Lahiri (Mindy Kaling) has taken us on. When season five came to a close, it appeared that Mindy and Ben (Bryan Greenberg) were preparing to live happily ever after…but maybe not?

While promoting his latest film The Sweet Life, we spoke to Chris Messina, who plays Danny Castellano on the show, Mindy’s big love and baby daddy, to find out if he has plans to return to the show. “I’m not sure. I don’t want to blow any spoilers, but I’m always up for Mindy. I love those guys over there, I love the people, they’re the best. I hope so,” he told us.

It’s certainly been a long road for Mindy and Danny. They broke up after becoming parents to the adorable baby Leo, only to reunite for a very sexy moment in a broken elevator at the end of season four. Season five hardly had any Danny Castellano around, which was a good opportunity for the show to allow the characters to move on to new relationships. But come on, they can’t possibly finish telling the story of our favorite fashionable OBGYN without an appearance from Danny, right?

Messina remained tightlipped on any details, but did say, “Those guys taught me so much about comedy and I’ve never laughed so much in my life. Between Mindy and Ike (Barinholtz), Adam (Pally) and Ed (Weeks), Beth (Grant), Xosha (Roquemore), it was an incredible group of funny people.”

Hulu

It was on a break from The Mindy Project that Messina took the time to make The Sweet Life, which is available now on VOD. His co-star on the project, Abigail Spencer, had this to say of working with him on the indie comedy: “He’s just a continually curious person. [His character] Kenny was so opposite of everything he was doing on Mindy Project. I thought that was bold and brave of him to keep pushing his boundaries and break the mold.”

While Messina will also appear in the much-anticipated Sharp Objects TV series later this year, he always seems to have an interesting film project or two coming up. So with The Mindy Project coming to an end, and Kaling appearing in both Ocean’s Eight and A Wrinkle in Time next year, does Messina see himself working with his Mindy co-stars in the film world someday? “I hope so, yeah! I’d love to work with all those folks. Ed Weeks and I, we shared a trailer so we were right next to each other, we’d eat lunch together a lot. We’d just always be talking about different film ideas. He’s a great writer so yeah, I wouldn’t be surprised. I’d love to work with any of them again. Mindy always has so many incredible ideas, it’s going to be exciting to see where she goes. I know she’s doing a lot of acting right now but I’m excited to see what she writes next. She’s an incredible talent.”

Where to watch The Mindy Project