Queue And A

‘Southern Charm’ Star Patricia Altschul Has Another New Show In Development

Where to Stream:

Southern Charm

Powered by Reelgood

When Craig Conover told us he thinks this is the craziest season yet of Southern Charm, he wasn’t kidding. While we love watching our pals on the Bravo series, it could use a bit more Patricia Altschul this season, tbh. We saw her lounging around in a fabulous caftan and scolding son Whitney Sudler-Smith about smoking weed, but to get our fix, we stopped by her book signing in New York City last week. While promoting The Art of Southern Charm, we got a few travel tips out of her, some info on Whitney that we didn’t know already, and even a tidbit about a new show she may or may not be working on with Carson Kressley (!).

DECIDER: We love you on Southern Charm, obviously, but if we were going to see a spin off of you and your butler Michael, what would we see on that show?

PATRICIA ALTSCHUL: Oh my goodness. Well, I have a life outside of Southern Charm. I have lots of interesting friends, and if you look through my book, you’ll see that I have them quoted as experts throughout the book. I travel. I do lots of fun things with my house. Carson Kressley and I are talking about doing kind of a bucket list fun thing together.

It would be a show?

We don’t know yet. We’re playing around. But I have lots of interesting, fun friends. I don’t just hang out with 20-year-olds. I go to auctions and shopping and fabulous restaurants. I don’t just sit there in my living room drinking martinis.

That sounds fun too though.

I do do that on occasion.

Speaking of traveling, what are some of your traveling tips?

I like cashmere or cashmere blend things and I like black. All black. Comfortable shoes. One pair of black heels. I plan my whole wardrobe. It’s white in the summer and black in the winter. I switch it up with purses, scarves, jewelry.

And caftans all year round.

And caftans all year round, yes. I am not a light packer, I should add. I haven’t figured that one out yet.

What’s something about Whitney that you wish we saw more of on the show?

People think that Whitney lives at home with his mama and plays the guitar, when in fact, Whitney is now on his third show. There’s going to be a big announcement from Bravo (It was just announced that he’ll serve as a producer on another SC spin off, Southern Charm New Orleans). He has five independent films that he has done. Whitney did the Halston documentary (Ultrasuede: In Search of Halston) with lots of scenes of Studio 54 and all the people, Liza Minnelli, Andy Warhol, and so forth. He is an accomplished musician. He was classically trained for the guitar, which he plays everyday to practice. And he works very hard. He also was a great student. He graduated from GW, my alma mater. He went to Oxford in the summers and then lived in France for a year and studied at the Alliance Francaise. He’s very respectful, sweet, and dutiful. He’s a good boy.

Southern Charm airs tonight at 9pm east on Bravo.

Where to watch Southern Charm