Jennifer Lawrence “Not Pretty Enough” To Play Sharon Tate in Tarantino Manson Murder Flick, Says Tate’s Sister

The internet went into a frenzy earlier this week when reports began swirling that Quentin Tarantino would be making a movie about the Manson Family murders, and early buzz suggested that the director had approached stars like Brad Pitt, Oscar winner Jennifer LawrenceWolf of Wall Street star Margot Robbie to star in the film. While it’s not clear what roles any of these actors are being considered for, the assumption seems to be that Lawrence and Robbie are in the running to play brutally murdered actress Sharon Tate.

While nothing has been announced officially yet, voices from all over have already begun to weigh in with their opinions about casting – including Tate’s sister, Debra, who held nothing back when telling TMZ how she felt about her sister’s casting.

They’re both extremely accomplished actresses, but I would have to say, my pick would be Margot. Simply because of her physical beauty and the way she even carries herself is similar to that of Sharon. I don’t think as much about Jennifer Lawrence. Not that I have anything against her, but she just… I don’t know. She’s not pretty enough to play Sharon. That’s a horrible thing to say, but you know, I have my standards.

Tate, 64, went onto emphasize that the physical beauty wouldn’t be so important if her sister’s public life hadn’t been based on her appearance, and that’s what she’d be trying to capture if the film did get made. She also mentioned that Tarantino had yet to reach out to her at all, which came as a surprise since she owns the rights to her sister Sharon’s intellectual licensing, image, and likeness. “I’m not necessarily opposed to this project, but I am very concerned in how he would portray my sister, and I would like to sit down and have a chat with him.”

If the project moves forward, it will reportedly shoot sometime in summer 2018.