Sand Snake Jessica Henwick Almost Skipped ‘Game of Thrones’ Season 7 Completely

Where to Stream:

Game of Thrones

Powered by Reelgood

Most actors, and Ed Sheeran, would jump at the chance to be on Game of Thrones. But for Sand Snake Nymeria actress Jessica Henwick, she needed a bit of convincing to return.

“I’m not going to lie, a part of me was like, ‘Maybe I shouldn’t do it. Maybe she just does disappear!’ And then the fans will never know what happened to her,” she told Entertainment Weekly. So what finally got her to participate in the HBO drama? A fateful call from showrunners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss. “As soon as you hear that more than one of them is on the call you know what that means. If it’s just one they’re probably talking about the story. But if it’s both of them then you know. They told me what’s going to happen and said, ‘We’d really love for you to come back.'” You know, for the character to meet her inevitable doom.

So Henwick, who was in the middle of shooting Marvel’s Iron Fist, had to go talk to her current bosses to see if it could happen. “I went and spoke to Marvel and I managed to get a release on two weekends. So I literally flew back and forth while I was doing Iron Fist in New York to Belfast, and over the Christmas break, I was filming as well.”

“The show was so massive for me in terms of my career and building my profile and as an experience in itself, I wanted to see it through to the end,” she explained. And one other thing sounded appealing to her, too.  “The big draw for me every season going back is that getting to work with my sisters, [fellow Sand Snake actors Keisha Castle-Hughes and Rosabell Laurenti Sellers]. I’m such good friends with Keisha that any chance I get to be with her I gladly take it,” Henwick admitted.

Although, she may have been re-thinking her decision once she got on set, saying, “It was hard, night shoots, we were really battling the elements they had created. I’m sure it’s going to look great but it was bigger in real life than on screen.”

We’re glad she returned, but also, we have to admit it was time for her to go.

Where to watch Game of Thrones