Queue And A

‘The Real Housewives Of Orange County’: Meghan King Edmonds Gets Real About New Housewife Peggy Sulahian, Stating “I Think She’s Weird”

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Orange County

Powered by Reelgood

We caught up with new mom and voice of reason on The Real Housewives of Orange County, Meghan King Edmonds, when she was in New York City last week. And this was right after we watched Peggy squeeze her lips shut, so we had a lot to discuss. Meghan doesn’t hold back when it comes to her feelings about the new Housewife, and fills us in on where she stands with each of the ladies —including why she’s happy to simply be “cordial” with Vicki. She gave us the latest on her nearly 9-month-old daughter Aspen, the parenting criticism she’s gotten from social media, and if we can expect any tantrums in tonight’s episode at her Sip and See party.

Let’s talk a little bit about mom stuff first. Congrats! She’s so cute. Have you been away from her?

Thanks! Yeah, I have. I went to Atlanta for three days. But she’s here with me. My mom’s at the hotel with her.

Is this her first New York trip?

It is! Yeah, she loves it.

Has becoming a mom changed anything that you do on the show, as far as things you do or don’t want to do or show on TV?

God no. I’m a stepmom, so I want to show myself to my stepkids the same way I want to show myself to my biological daughter. So that hasn’t changed.

Were you prepared for everybody chiming in on how you parent, from Jimmy to the other ladies to people on social media?

I’m shocked at the social media chiming in. Everybody’s a perfect mother I guess. Jimmy is just bossy in general. But so am I, so I just tune him out, I’m used to him. The other ladies, they’ve been really good and really supportive of whatever my choice is. I even remember one time Peggy said something like, ‘Why don’t you just not bring the baby on the trip? Why don’t you just stop breastfeeding?’ Or something, because I was breastfeeding. I think it was Vicki actually who stood up for me and was like, ‘No, you can’t just like stop that.’ So basically the only kind of backlash that I got from the mom stuff was that time from Peggy. But everybody else is great, they’re super supportive. They’re good moms. By the way, nobody knows what the hell we’re doing we just try our best.

Let’s talk a little bit about Peggy. Last week’s episode was your first interaction with her on-screen. Does the lip situation color things from here on out as far as your relationship with her goes?

I don’t really know. I still don’t understand Peggy. I think she’s weird and I thought she was weird at the time. So I was thrown off by the whole lip thing. But I thought she was like fixing my gloss. I just didn’t understand it. And then I was just like, okay well maybe she doesn’t know how to act around other people. Maybe she’s like cooped up or something. And then she kept being weird, so I just don’t get her. I can’t communicate with her. She’s hard to understand. Not because of her accent but because of the words that she strings together. It’s just hard. So I don’t know if it colors it or not, that would be a good question for her because I do not understand her.

How about Lydia? What was your dynamic with her, you seem to be friends?

Yeah, I like Lydia. I guess we were off to a little bit slower start. I think it was probably because she was close with Vicki. And for me that’s a place I don’t really want to tread into, because to me, that’s like opening the doors for potential conflict and I don’t need that. I don’t want to try and steal a friend or something. Vicki and I are in a good, cordial place and we have been for a while and I don’t need to screw that up. So that’s why I think we were off to a little bit of a slower start, but it was a steady start, slow but steady.

Can you be neutral in the whole Vicki and Kelly versus Tamra and Shannon thing? Can you stay in the middle of that? 

No, I can’t. No, how would a good friend stay in the middle? I feel like I can’t stay true to myself and listen to shit being talked about both sets of people on both sides. That’s totally a hypocrite. So I’m not gonna do that. Plus, I’m good friends with Tamra and Shannon. I’m not good friends with Vicki. I’ll never be good friends with Vicki. I’m fine with being cordial with Vicki but I’m not gonna sit around and listen to her talk shit about Tamra or Shannon. So I don’t want to put myself in that situation because I don’t want to shut it down, I just want to avoid this conflict. But it’s hard to do sometimes.

You are often times the voice of reason. Does that get old and do you feel like the other women listen to you?

Does it get old to be the voice of reason? Well, I think that’s a huge compliment, so thank you. No, it’s just who I am. I think everybody has a voice of reason within them. They could just offer it up. I think I’m just being myself. So does it get old to be myself? Probably (laughs). I’m sure a lot of other people would think, yeah, it gets real old, and shut up already. But do the other ladies listen to me? I think yeah, here and there. Sometimes they get mad and sometimes they listen. It’s just hit or miss. Throw it at the wall and see what sticks.

Bravo

Tonight’s episode includes your Sip and See. How did it go, are there any tantrums?

It’s good. I don’t think so. I remember, I think there was another lip situation but I don’t know if it was at the Sip and See. But honestly I’m just perplexed with Peggy so I can’t even be angry. I’m angry when I watch it because I’m like, what is she doing to me?! But in the time I’m like, what’s happening?

You did handle it well because you really seemed to be confused.

It’s shocking. And I remember, I think it happened again. I think it did because I think I had a similar reaction. And somebody had to remind me like, that wasn’t okay. I don’t know, let’s say it was Shannon. She was like, ‘You know she did that twice to you?’ And I’m like, oh yeah, that was weird.

Recently we’ve seen on The Real Housewives of New York, all the women went to Mexico and they got super trashed. Is that something that you think this group can do, go get super drunk and then be open and emotional with each other?

Probably, yeah, in a different life. It might be tough in this one (laughs). I mean, anything is possible, but typically when you add tequila, it’s not gonna have a good ending.

The Real Housewives of Orange County airs Monday at 9/8c on Bravo. 

Where to watch The Real Housewives of Orange County