Ouch–Jennifer Lawrence Tore Her Diaphragm While Filming ‘mother!’

Where to Stream:

Mother! (2017)

Powered by Reelgood

Whatever reaction mother! elicits from you probably won’t be as extreme as what star Jennifer Lawrence went through while shooting the psychological horror/thriller. Seriously, unless you literally claw your eyes out, you got nothing on Lawrence, who straight up tore her diaphragm during production.

While at mother!’s London premiere, the Academy Award winner revealed that she got so into character that she suffered a truly baffling injury. “I tore my diaphragm for hyperventilating,” said Lawrence, as reported by The Daily Mail. “People thought I was beaten up, so [I] want to clear it up that I did it to myself. It was my own doing.”

Lawrence’s painful commitment to the role even surprised her, as she revealed that she initially thought she was “severely miscast. I found time to find who she was while working with [director] Darren [Aronofsky] and I was able to pull out this personality that I didn’t know existed.”

As Jezebel pointed out, actors have a habit of going too far when working with Aronofsky, reaching the point of injury. Russell Crowe got hypothermia while filming Noah and Natalie Portman nearly had a “total breakdown” during Black Swan.

So was that torn diaphragm worth it? That’s hard to day; is any performance worth doing serious damage to your body? At least mother! seems to be winning over critics. It’s too early to tell if the disturbing film will be a hit with critics, but it does have an 83% on Rotten Tomatoes based on a few dozen reviews. Critics are calling it “a cinematic experience of unique proportions” and “a shocking delight of apocalyptic proportions.”

mother! hits theaters on September 15.