So You Read Marie Kondo’s ‘The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up’ — Now Watch These 5 YouTube Videos

If you’ve read Marie Kondo’s bestselling masterpiece The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up (and the follow up, Spark Joy) then you know that they can be truly life-changing. I spent many pages imagining myself placing a scratchy red sweater and the peach dress I wore to a wedding once and that gray t-shirt I hadn’t worn since 2007 into a bag intended for Goodwill. And while tidying master Kondo seemed to anticipate my every question (sigh, you can’t just store your junk at your parents’ house), there were still a few things I wondered about.

For instance, how exactly did she want me to store my socks? And I think I can picture what her folding method looks like, but can I get a visual? That’s where YouTube comes in.

If you too are looking for just a tiny bit of clarification to make sure your closet meets all of Kondo’s expectations, these are the YouTube videos that will make the KonMari method foolproof for your home.

Folding Shirts

I thought I could picture what she was describing when it came to properly folding shirts, but this video makes it crystal clear. And it’s just so fun to watch her in action! Plus, look how cool it is to see the way the shirts should stand up straight (remember: no stacking!).

Folding Socks

Socks (and stockings) were the item I had the most trouble picturing, so this video came in very handy, as Kondo places a row of socks (and bras!) accordingly.

Tidying Your Desk

Your desk holds some of the hardest items to discard, including miscellaneous items and documents that can be tricky to simply throw away. Here, the master shows us just how it’s done. After all, you want only things that spark joy around you, not just as home, but maybe even more so at the office.

A Total Tidying Refresher

Maybe it’s been a while since you read the book and you didn’t get right to work, or perhaps you just want to share the magic with someone who’s not quite a big reader. Go with this video, a refresher on the steps to take to achieve a neat and joyful living space.

Plus Ellen

One last video, just because everything is better with Ellen (and Ellie!). But also, it’s so great to watch Kondo’s physical reaction to clothing items here, in case you needed an (admittedly adorable) example of how your body should be reacting when joy is indeed sparked.