Gary Oldman On Harvey Weinstein: “He Gave Me The Creeps”

Gary Oldman stepped backstage after winning the Golden Globe for best actor in a drama film. The Darkest Hour star, who was in all black, talked about how the actions of the former British Prime Minister parallels the initiative of the newly formed #MeToo movement.

“Our world order that we enjoy the last 70 years I think is arguably down to one man, Oldman said in reference to Winston Churchill, whom Oldman lauded as “arguably the greatest Brit who ever lived.” “It’s harmonic that we have this #timesup. I’m proud of the movie because it shows the power of words and actions. Words and actions can literally change the world.”

“When the curtain came down on Harvey, I was flabbergasted and shocked,” said Oldman, having opted to never work with Weinstein after meeting him for the first time in 1992. “He gave me the creeps. “I looked at it as evolution,” he said, speaking on the movement. “I’m in solitary [sic] with this #timesup movement…[Darkest Hour] illustrates what can come from standing up.”