Dylan Farrow Asks “Why Shouldn’t I Want” To Bring Woody Allen Down

Dylan Farrow will be the subject of her first on-camera interview about Woody Allen later this week. During a preview for CBS This Morning, co-host Gayle King asked Farrow whether or not she wants to “bring down” her father.

“Why should I want to bring him down?,” Farrow said. “Why shouldn’t I be angry? Why shouldn’t I be hurt? Why shouldn’t I feel some sort of outrage after all these years of being ignored and disbelieved and tossed aside?”

King challenged Farrow, asking why people should believe her now after so many years of being silent. Farrow didn’t publicly renew her sexual assault claims until 2014. “I suppose that’s on them, but all I can do is speak my truth and hope,” she said. “Hope that somebody will believe me instead of just hearing.” King revealed that CBS This Morning has reached out to Woody Allen and has so far not received comment.

Accusations that Allen sexually assaulted and abused Farrow have been around since 1992. In a court case in 1993, it was decided that the court would no longer pursue Allen for molestation allegations. However over the years, Farrow has maintained her story, and though Allen has repeatedly denied the allegations, the accusations continue to haunt and stain his reputation. In the wake of so many Hollywood sexual assault cases as well as the #MeToo and Time’s Up movements, many have started to pay more attention to the allegations against Allen.

“I think it’s important that people realize that one victim, one accuser, matters,” Farrow said. “And that they are enough to change things.”

Dylan Farrow’s interview will air on CBS This Morning on Thursday, January 18.

Where to stream CBS All Access