Patricia Heaton Reveals The Cast Of ‘Everybody Loves Raymond’ Was Really Well Fed Thanks To Phil Rosenthal

Stars — they love delicious delicacies just like the rest of us. Netflix’s latest travel series Somebody Feed Phil explores show creator Phil Rosenthal‘s long-running love of great food. However, according to one of the biggest stars on his iconic series Everybody Loves Raymond, Rosenthal’s foodie habits can be tracked all the way back to the Barone household.

At the Television Critics Association’s 2018 winter tour, Everybody Loves Raymond and The Middle star Patricia Heaton spilled on what the food was like on the set of Raymond. “I moved to New York from Ohio State in the ‘80s and I started to get this introduction to the culinary life. And then Phil just took it to another level. Another level,” she said.

“Before Krispy Kreme doughnuts were national we were having Krispy Kreme doughnuts flown in from the South. And we’d have deep dish pizza flown in from Chicago. And the Pinks Hot Dogs truck would actually be backed onto the set,” Heaton said. “I mean, he’s the bomb.”

If you’ve ever wondered why Rosenthal hasn’t made another major television show after Raymond, Heaton alluded to an explanation. The show creator who’s hosting his second travel show is probably just having too much fun eating. “He’s very busy traveling the world with his food. I’m like, ‘Phil, there’s people in England who want you to come over. Do you want to write a show with me in England?’ ‘Well I’m in Thailand right now eating,'” she said, imitating the award-winning show creator. 

Heaton also had no problem playfully mocking her Everybody Loves Raymond co-star Ray Romano. The actress revealed that Romano gave her notes on her performance from the show’s pilot. “But you know what it was? He comes from the world of stand-up and they often, and they invite critiquing from their co-workers. So the etiquette in theater is a little different,” she said. “I never asked Ray for advice but I still got it. And that was OK.”

“I knew what it was, I knew where he came from, and I knew what he was doing, so it was never offensive to me. It was like OK. I’ll listen to you. Now go eff off,” she joked.

CBS, can we get a spin-off series about the behind-the-scenes life of Everybody Loves Raymond? It sounds delightful.

Where to stream Everybody Loves Raymond

Stream Somebody Feed Phil on  Netflix