Ellen DeGeneres Delivers State Of The Union Speech That’s “All About Love And Inclusiveness”

Well, it happened. Donald Trump gave his first State of the Union address. There was, of course, a lot of build-up to the speech–more so than usual considering just how extra everything Trump does is. That has led to a bit of SOTU mania for all the talk show hosts, with many of them giving the speech their own unique spin. Stephen Colbert allowed “Melania Trump” to give her own speech, and Ellen DeGeneres used the occasion to deliver a state of her own union.

In the segment, Ellen admits that she missed the actual speech because she “had a thing and I had to meet someone for another thing after that.” Then she launches into her own speech, complete with a podium, and flanked by the show’s DJ tWitch and the “most average member” of the Ellen staff, Andy.

Ellen started off the speech with a pitch-perfect rundown of… her unemployment rating?

“My unemployment is at an all-time low. I’ve never had so many jobs in my life.” she said, referencing the many shows she hosts along with her lifestyle brand and production company.

Ellen closed out the State Of My Union speech by summing up why she feels solid going into the rest of 2018: “In closing, I’d like to say that the state of my union is strong because this show is all about love and inclusiveness.”