Kid Who Took Selfie With Justin Timberlake At Super Bowl Is The Internet’s Newest Celeb

There were many unforgettable moments during Super Bowl 52, but the one that resonated the most with viewers didn’t take place on the gridiron. Much like Left Shark stole the show during Katy Perry’s Super Bowl XLIX halftime show, social media has been obsessed with the teen Justin Timberlake took a selfie with during his epic musical performance. His name is Ryan McKenna, but you probably know him as #SelfieKid.

A seventh-grader at Derby Academy in Hingham, Massachusetts, the 13-year-old flew into Minnesota with his family around noon on Sunday. Little did McKenna know that his whole life was about to change. Social media went into meme overdrive after Timberlake’s halftime extravaganza, cementing McKenna’s status as the internet’s newest celebrity.

“It’s been so crazy,” McKenna told the Twin Cities Pioneer Press. “I don’t even know what to think. All my friends have been texting me and stuff. It’s insane.”

“My phone is almost dead,��� he added. “I’ve gotten so many notifications. I’ve got like 36 Snapchats, like 21 DMs, and like 150 follower requests on Instagram.”

Insane indeed. McKenna’s whirlwind 24-hours continued earlier this morning when the social media sensation appeared on Good Morning America.

At this rate, Ryan McKenna will be in a newly formed reboot of NSYNC by Wednesday.

“It was already crazy to be at the Super Bowl in the first place,” McKenna continued. “Then all of a sudden I’m up on the jumbotron and everyone is talking about me. I can’t believe it.”

Watch Justin Timberlake rock U.S. Bank Stadium’s body during Super Bowl 52 below.