‘Queer Eye’s’ Tan France Gives Style Tips To TV Icons

1 of 8
Tan France Makes Over TV Guys gallery cover

Photos: NBC, Netflix, Hulu, Everett Collection ; Illustration: Dillen Phelps

2 of 8
HOME IMPROVEMENT, Richard Karn (1998-Season 7), 1991-99, (c)Touchstone Television/courtesy Everett C
The Man: Al Borland
The Show: Home Improvement
Tan's Take: "Okay, Al. Al should be a gay icon. He's the most manly but the most sensitive and he's a bear. Like, that is one handsome bear. Yes. 10/10. I'm not even going to give him any critique, there's nothing to critique."

©Touchstone Television/Courtesy Everett Collection

3 of 8
FAMILY MATTERS, Jaleel White (1994), Reginald VelJohnson, 1989-98
The Men: Steve Urkel and Carl Winslow
The Show: Family Matters
Tan's Take: "I have no idea who these people are, but I don't know what [Urkel's] wearing. I don't know why he's wearing an aviator hat. His jeans are high, but I really like high-waisted jeans right now, so I'm not gonna critique that. But his look is super weird, I'm assuming it's "geek-chic," was he meant to be a geek on the show? And then the gentleman on the right, if you got problem areas that you want to hide, maybe don't highlight it with a really tight shirt and a belt. Maybe just loosen that shirt up, or wear another layer and it'll hide the part you wanna hide.

Courtesy Everett Collection

4 of 8
makeover-michael-the-office
The Man: Michael Scott
The Show: The Office
Tan's Take: "First of all, I love The Office. I love Steve Carell, I think he's super hot. I've had a crush on him for a really long time, no joke. I think his suits on the show are hideous, and yes, they need to be tailored, but his character is so awesome I can't really critique him. He's so hot. I think he gets hotter with age. Keepin' it simple, Michael Scott is hot!"

Netflix

5 of 8
makeover-joey-full-house
The Man: Joey Gladstone
The Show: Full House
Tan's Take: "Again, I don't know who this is, I've never seen the show, actually never heard of the show... But I love the sweater, the '80s are making a comeback, is it the '80s? Maybe the '90s, is making a comeback. If he were just to change his hair, you wouldn't know if it were the '80s, the '90s, or right now. I think he looks great. It's the hair that dates it. That's some random dude form New York if you change the hair."

Hulu

6 of 8
IRON FIST (aka MARVEL’S IRON FIST), Finn Jones, ‘Shadow Hawk Takes Flight’, (Season 1, ep. 102,
The Man: Danny Rand
The Show: Marvel's Iron Fist
Tan's Take: "This mate I should know because he's part of the Netflix family. I've never seen him before. However, his hair is beautiful, his beard definitely needs a trim. He needs some really good grooming, Jonathan, you can help him. And his clothes look like he's robbed a homeless man and they don't need that."

©Netflix/Courtesy Everett Collection

7 of 8
BLOSSOM, A Little Help From My Friends, aired 02/28/94, Joey Lawrence, Mr. T, 1991-95
The Man: Joey Russo
The Show: Blossom
Tan's Take: "Joey was, no joke, one of my first crushes ever. I was fully in love with him. I think he was the reason I first realized I was gay because every time he'd come on TV my heart would pound, even before I knew what that kind of stuff was. 10/10. There's literally nothing to change about him. Oh my god. I was just talking about how he's hot, I didn't comment on his clothes! Nothing to say, he's perfect the way he is."

©Touchstone Television/Courtesy Everett Collection

8 of 8
STRANGER THINGS, l-r: Rob Morgan, Stephen Dean, David Harbour in ‘Chapter One: The Vanishing Will
The Man: Sheriff Jim Hopper
The Show: Stranger Things
Tan's Take: "Hopper. I wish I had more to say than just 'Hopper.' But by me looking at you this way [looks intensely], you know what I mean. And my husband knows exactly what I mean. Hopper would get it... not to be vulgar, but he'd get it."

©Netflix/Courtesy Everett Collection