Arie Takes Credit For Becca’s ‘Bachelorette’ Title

It might only be Wednesday, but it’s been a helluva week for fans of The Bachelor. After a shocking finale that saw Arie Luyendyk Jr. get engaged to Becca and promptly break it off to propose to Lauren B. instead, outrage swept the interwebs. Poor Becca’s devastating dumping may still be generating some serious backlash, but Arie, in all of his dumb, salt-and-pepper glory, now claims that he allowed the cameras in so that Becca would have a shot at becoming the next Bachelorette. That’s right. According to him, Becca owes her new title to the man who broke her heart on national television.

During an appearance on Good Morning America on Wednesday, Luyendyk told Michael Strahan that he talked about the pressure he was feeling and (sort of?) took responsibility for allowing the cameras to capture the breakup. “I really wanted everyone to know that this was on me,” he said. “This was my fault, and I felt like filming that would let people know that, that if there were any questions on the breakup, that those would be squashed if they saw the breakup.”

“And I wanted her that opportunity, honestly, I wanted her that opportunity to be the potential Bachelorette,” he said. “I’m very happy for her. I’m happy that she’s going to be able to find her true love through the show.”

“This ending obviously wasn’t perfect. And I know it’s difficult for a lot of people to swallow, but I’m happy,” he added.

It might sting now, Becca, but we have a feeling you’re going to be happy too. (Especially without this car-driving dummy.)