Netflix’s ‘On My Block’ Is A Coming-Of-Age Charmer That Celebrates Diversity

I’m not the target audience for Netflix’s new teen comedy On My Block. I’m not a teenager, I’ve never lived in South Los Angeles, and I don’t have a Tumblr account. On My Block is miles away from my admittedly peculiar TV comfort zone of critically-acclaimed sitcoms and old Unsolved Mysteries reruns, which is why I was shocked to be so summarily smitten by the stealthy charms of this cheerful coming-of-age series.

Premiering today on Netflix, the series follows an endearingly nerdy group of buds navigating the slippery slope of embarrassment and calamity known as high school. What separates On My Block from traditional teen television fare is the show’s steely authenticity. Set in South Central, L.A., the series is an ebullient mix of the indelible folly of youth and harsh realities of modern life. It’s the rare young adult show that can organically toggle between jokes about masturbation and plots centering around the hardships of gang life without the viewer feeling like they’re on a tonal roller coaster.

From the minds of Eddie Gonzalez, Jeremy Haft, and Awkward creator Lauren Iungerich, the series is a savvy step forward for the genre. Gone are the fluffy TNBC shows of yesteryear. In their place is a more polished series that features genuine three-dimensional characters who realistically tackle the challenges of impending adulthood.

The strength of the show lies in its cast of exceptional young actors. The relative unknown squad who lead the series — Sierra Capri (Monse), Diego Tinoco (Cesar Diaz), Jason Genao (Ruby), and Brett Gray (Jamal) — handle the difficult task of being the face of a new Netflix streamer with veteran aplomb. The foursome exude a joyous chemistry as On My Block celebrates the restorative power of friendship, because the only way to survive the pitfalls of adolescence is to have a crew you can trust.

It’s kinda the teenage, non-island version of “Live Together, Die Alone.”

The series is set in a predominantly Hispanic and Black part of Los Angeles and refreshingly boasts an almost exclusively diverse cast. When Decider spoke with the young actors from On My Block at a press event, actor Diego Tinoco, who portrays reluctant gang member Cesar Diaz, relayed that the diversity extended behind the camera.

“The whole crew was diverse,” Tinoco told us. “We had Asian directors, Latino producers, Latino writers, African-American writers…It was insane.”

Photo: Netflix

Netflix’s newest coming-of-age comedy imbues the hardships of adolescence with a cheerful, joyous confidence. I grew up watching Zack Morris literally attempt to brainwash a girl into dating him, so, yeah, I wish a show this genuine existed in the ’90s.

Adults aren’t impervious to its charms, but On My Block is a must-stream series for the young adult crowd.

Stream On My Block on Netflix