O.J. Simpson Claims Fox’s ‘Lost Confession’ Special “Pimped” Him for Ratings

Last Sunday, Fox made waves for premiering a previously unaired and scandalous special about O.J. Simpson called The Lost Confession. Connected to the original release of Simpson’s 2006 book If I Did It, the two-hour special featured an interview from the former athlete in which he explained how he hypothetically would have committed the murders of Nicole Brown Simpson and Ron Goldman. At the time, it was pulled due to widespread public outrage. Though the present day Simpson was missing from Fox’s special, we now know what the celebrity thinks of it.

In his first major interview in over a decade, Simpson talked Buffalo News about prison, retirement, and football. But early in the interview, Simpson also addresses Fox and The Lost Confession. As writer Tim Graham notes, the special premiered the night before the interview was scheduled. When Graham brought the special up, this is what Simpson had to say:

“When people want to make money or get ratings,” Simpson said, “they’re going to pimp me. I’m going to get pimped.”

The celebrity also revealed that several of his friends and former teammates asked him about the Fox special, including former Bills defensive end Sherman White. Here’s how Graham describes that conversation:

“Listen, if I confessed 12 years ago,” Simpson told White through mutual laughter, “you would have heard about it 12 years ago!”

Though people in his life asked him about the special, Simpson didn’t watch it for himself. In the interview, he admits that he hasn’t seen any of the shows and movies about his life, including ESPN’s Oscar-winning 30 for 30’s O.J.: Made in America or FX’s Emmy and Golden Globe-winning The People vs. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story. “I watch nothing of me,” Simpson told Buffalo News. “I didn’t watch the [Fox special Sunday night] because I knew they were all haters, and people will say things that are just not true, and there’s nobody there to challenge them, and that would piss me off.

Simpson ended the conversation about his many specials by saying, “So why? It’s a beautiful day. I’m about to go play golf. Why should I have some crap in my mind? You’ve got to let it go.”

You can read the full interview with Simpson here. 

Where to stream O.J. Simpson: The Lost Confession