Samantha Bee Was A Teenage Car Thief

Where to Stream:

The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

Powered by Reelgood

Samantha Bee might be a beloved late night host these days, but before she was making us laugh and giving us hot political takes, she was boosting cars as a Canadian teenager. During an appearance on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, Bee admitted that she had quite the colorful past in her home country of Canada.

While discussing how politically involved today’s teens have become, Bee revealed that she did the opposite in her teen years. “I was stealing cars when I was 15 years old,” Bee said, laughing. “I was taking out of society. I was terrible.”

Colbert, incredulous, wondered how this could be true. “You were boosting cars?!” he asked. “I was a delinquent,” Bee confirmed. “We stole several cars!” During her criminal phase, she dated quite the rebel, a “bad influence” of a boyfriend who got her into stealing cars together. “We were a little bit of a Bonnie and Clyde situation,” she confessed.

“It did not last long because ultimately, I’m a Catholic schoolgirl at heart. I like a gold star. So that was a fleeting… it was a stage,” said Bee. “I thought I was a troubled kid,” said Colbert. “But I never engaged in grand larceny!”

If you’re a Canadian whose car was stolen by some no-good youths in the last few decades, we have an idea of who the culprit might be.