The Best Part of ‘Jeopardy’ Is That Alex Trebek Gives Absolutely Zero F*cks

I love Alex Trebek. He is, full stop, the best part of Jeopardy. Contestants being presented with clues in the form of an answer and earning points for responding with a question? No thank you. That just seems unnecessarily confusing. I don’t tune into Jeopardy for the trivia or to impress people with my abundance of knowledge pertaining to National Marine Sanctuaries, I’m there each and every day to watch the undisputed bad boy of trivia-based game shows serve up some intellectual sass.

Alex Trebek has been hosting Jeopardy for approximately 800 years. Okay, maybe it’s more like 33 years, but that’s still a very long time. Trebek has hosted the series longer than Cheaper by the Dozen 2 star Hilary Duff has been alive. Trebek has always been salty — as evidenced here, here, and by this entire Facebook group dedicated to hating the host — but lately the man of intellectual mystery is really having some fun with it.. and I am loving it.

“The only answer I don’t have is how I got this freaking cool, daddio.”Photo: Getty Images

I assumed everyone enjoyed Trebek’s antics, kinda like the way you love your surly uncle. You don’t want to live with him, but he’s a fun hang three days out of the year. But it turns out there’s a subset of fans who are decidedly not on board with Trebek’s sometimes brusque demeanor. That’s fine. To each their own. But in Trebek’s defense, the dude is 77-years-old! Have you spent a ton of time with a 77-year-old? They are wayyy past the point of conversational restraint. They call ‘um like they see ‘um. Last year, I asked my nana if she was excited I was coming home to celebrate her birthday. She replied “not really.” Trebek has hosted the series longer than Agent Cody Banks luminary Frankie Muniz has been on this earth. If my nana hosted the series for even one day the title would be changed to “Don’t Talk to Me.”

Over the past few months, Trebek’s snapped at a lady for insulting Big Bird, roasted contestants for their lack of sports knowledge, and booed someone for never seeing the Reese Witherspoon film Walk the Line. It’s such a blast to watch. And the best part? He does it with a polished confidence.

It’s as if he’s saying, “Oh, you don’t like my attitude? Kiss my Emmys, baby!”

Loosely translated “Hakuna Matata” means no worries for the rest of your days.Photo: Getty Images

The man with all the answers continues to imbue the game show with an entertaining, irreverent edge. And you know what, you would too if you hosted the same series for over 33 years.

I disagree with the title of the following video, but it’s the funniest 12-seconds you’ll spend all day.

If the question is “What is incredible?” the answer is Alex Trebek.

Related: A ‘Jeopardy’ Contestant Made One Of The Craftiest Moves In Show History

Where to stream Jeopardy