Queue And A

‘Southern Charm’: Cameran Eubanks Reveals The Real Moment She Felt Like A Mom

It feels like we’re watching our Southern Charm pals grow up right before our eyes. And this season, that’s never been more true than for Cameran Eubanks. It’s been not only beautiful but awfully refreshing to watch her take on pregnancy with grace…and Chick-fil-A.
We sat down with the new mom to discuss her gorgeous baby shower — including that *ahem* interesting cake (that no bakery would make!) and the super fancy present Patricia got for baby Palmer. She wasn’t afraid to admit the moment she really felt like a mom and how her new daughter has reacted to her infamous voodoo dolls. Cam also told us about her husband, Jason, and most importantly, how the neighbors’ dog Elvis is doing.

Obviously, the most important news…Elvis made his debut last week.

Elvis! And somebody has made a parody Elvis Instagram account. FYI, I am not in charge of it. That is not me. 

We wouldn’t think it was you, but we would think it was maybe your husband, Jason. 

Jason doesn’t know how to work Instagram.

Do the neighbors that Elvis belongs to watch the show?

The neighbors do watch the show. I have tried to interview them because people on Instagram want to see these infamous neighbors, and bless their hearts, they want to remain anonymous. They do not want to be shown on social media. But they are the sweetest couple, they’re in their 50’s, they’re from Wisconsin, and they have a dog that likes us better.

Does Elvis like you and Palmer as much as he likes Jason?

No. He could care less about the two of us. It’s a full-fledged love affair with my husband.

It’s been nice watching you experience all the stages of motherhood. I liked watching you get the ultrasound last week, and admitting it still didn’t feel real. So when was it real? When we were you like “Oh, this happened?”

I think it’s such a different experience for every woman. Some women bond instantly with their children, but I was not one of those. I think a lot of women, even if you don’t bond instantly, you lie and say you do because you don’t want to be judged. It took me awhile. When they put Palmer in my arms I didn’t cry. It was like, “Oh my god, nice to meet you. Okay, I’ll try to keep you alive.” It was kind of like an out-of-body experience. I would say it became real to me the first time she smiled at me. That was when I got emotional and I felt that connection. And of course my husband was like, “She’s just smiling because she’s got gas. They smile when they have gas.” I’m convinced it was because she loved me.

Did you ever put together the pieces of the teddy bear that Craig gave you?

No. The unfinished teddy bear…Jason said “Throw that away, Cameran.” And I was like, “I can’t bring myself to throw that away.” I kept it. It’s the thought that counts. The good intention is there, but he needs to get a job in the law field.

He kind of is that teddy bear. All the pieces are there, they just have to connect.

He is. Craig is like pure goodness. Not a mean bone in his body. 

The cake was obviously quite a sight. Did it taste good, too?

The cake was delicious. The cake was actually my brain child. We’re not going to blame that on Patricia and Whitney. I told Whitney that I wanted the vagina cake. I’ve seen pictures of it before and I just thought it was brilliant. They could not find a bakery in Charleston that would accept this task. Patricia’s party planner finally…I think she paid somebody off. The bakery said if you mention our name on Instagram or any social media, we’ll kill you. I know the bakery that did it, but they will remain anonymous. 

The neighbors, the bakery, all these people don’t want to be associated.

Welcome to Charleston.

The party was obviously beautiful. Did Patricia get you a gift, too?  

Oh yes, Patricia got Palmer a baby Chanel bag. Which is like so over the top. I don’t own a Chanel bag. I will probably never own a Chanel bag. That’s why Whitney needs to have a kid because I can’t even imagine how spoiled that child would be. Not to mention, there needs to be an heir. I did consider making Whitney the godfather, simply for the reason of, “Man, I could get in this will. I could sneak Palmer in this will somehow.” No, I’m kidding. 

Of your friends, which have taken a liking to Palmer, maybe even a little bit more than you expected?

Whitney has been really involved with her and Shep, believe it or not. He came over the other day and took her on a walk. They’re softer than they portray on TV, I think.

How does Palmer feel about your voodoo dolls? 

She’s not scared of them, so that’s good. I do believe they’re like protectors. I have one doll in her nursery and I have one doll in the guest bathroom. It sits on a little chair.

One of my favorite things about this season so far is the single ladies club, that all the women came together and are bonding. Were you getting text updates from them about all of their adventures?

Yeah, I think this season…the guys really got called out. Everything kind of came to a head. Naomie especially did not hold back at all and I think you’ll see even more on this week’s episode. Does not hold back.

Chelsea is so beautiful.

She is legitimately the entire package. She’s a hot tomboy who’s nice and genuine.

How are you feeling about her and Austen’s stuff at this point?

They’re done. I don’t think they were ever really a match.

What’s something that you do want viewers to know about Jason? 

First of all, I cannot believe he married me. I feel like I tricked him into marrying me. He is the best person that I know. I call him my rock. He’s super solid. He wants no part of the show, but believe it or not, he is my biggest supporter. A lot of people don’t realize that. They think he’s not on the show because he doesn’t like it. He freaking loves the show. And every season I’m like, “I’m not coming back.” He’s the one that convinces me, he’s like, “You have to go back! I love the show.” He’s a huge Southern Charm fan. He’s friends with everybody. He hangs out with us, just not when the cameras are on. Reality television is not for everybody. You either are cut out for it or you’re not. He’s not.

What is it that keeps you coming back, now that we’re five seasons in? 

We have so much fun. At the end of the day, we’re genuinely friends. We’re not acting for the cameras. We care about each other, we fight and bicker, we talk shit about each other, but at the end of the day we really care about each other.

It’s always nice to see your mom on the show. What have you taken on, intentionally or otherwise, from your mom now as a mom?

My mom was never the Suzy Homemaker. She worked. She wasn’t the mom who baked cookies and braided our hair and had our lunch boxes packed, but she was such an incredible mom in the way that she was always reading to us, giving us advice, teaching us things—that’s the kind of mom that I want to be. I want to raise my daughter to be a better person than I am. I think that’s who my mom is and was for sure. She’s great.

I like how open you’ve been about everything. The picture of you with the shirt with breast milk all over it, I love that. Nobody has the balls to do that.

That’s real life. That’s being a new mom. It’s not like this perfect Instagram picture of you with your tight stomach. It’s not. The first few weeks are hell. It’s really, really hard. I want women to know that they are not alone. There is one night I cried to my husband and I was like, “Why did we do this? We actually chose to do this?” But it gets better. And hormones are real.

Has there been something you’ve shared and you’ve been open about that women have especially connected with?  

I think the breastfeeding. The fact that I chose to stop, not because I had an issue or because I was sick or because my baby couldn’t do it, I chose to stop because it literally started to affect my mental health. I could feel myself starting to get depressed and when it was at the expense of my mental health, I was like, “Okay, I have to be done with this.” My baby is going to be fine. I was raised on formula from day one and turned out okay. I think a lot of women, I call them “lactivists”; it’s just if you don’t breastfeed you’re a horrible, non-organic, creep of a woman and it’s not that way. If breastfeeding is making you depressed you should stop because a happy mother is more important for your baby. I’ve had so many people write me private messages and say, “Oh my god, it’s almost like you gave me permission that it’s okay that I don’t want to do this.” Which is good.
Southern Charm airs Thursdays at 9pm ET/PT on Bravo.

Where to watch Southern Charm