Howie Mandel on Meghan Markle’s Run on ‘Deal or No Deal’: “I Don’t Remember You”

You never know what life has in store for the people you meet. That’s a lesson Howie Mandel is learning right now. Even though Mandel’s Deal or No Deal is the show that gave Meghan Markle one of her first big breaks, he can’t for the life of him remember anything about the future princess.

Markle first appeared on Season 2 of the negotiation-heavy game show as one of its case models. This was during the 2006 and 2007 season. Prior to the game show, Markle had only really appeared in smaller movies and single episodes of shows. The actress didn’t land her major role on Suits until 2011, but the case-holding gig was one of Markle’s biggest roles prior to the USA drama.

The former game show host was asked about Markle by E!’s Giuliana Rancic at the 2018 NBCUniversal Upfront. “To be honest, I don’t even remember her. I don’t. I don’t,” he said. “I’d like to say I do and if she’s watching, and she’s not right?”

He then looked into the camera and doubled down on his bad memory. “I don’t remember you. I’ve seen a lot of pictures and I don’t.”

At least we know he’s not lying. One thing’s for sure. Mandel’s definitely not getting an invitation to the royal wedding. Maybe if he sends a nice congratulations gift there’s still hope for him to patch things up.

Where to stream Deal or No Deal