Debra Messing Says Hollywood Exec Made Her Wear Fake Boobs

Long before Debra Messing dazzled audiences as Grace Adler on Will & Grace and Julia Houston on the cult NBC series Smash, she was a young actress searching for that elusive big break. During a recent conversation with Sharon Stone for Variety’s “Actors on Actors�� series, Messing revealed that a Hollywood executive made her wear fake breasts during one of her first jobs.

“I had to wear fake boobs when I first started in Hollywood on my first sitcom,” Messing told Stone.

Messing recounted how producers gave her cutlets to try on that would enhance her breast size. The actress’ reaction? She told the producers that she looked stupid. “I was like, ‘I’m not going to wear these,’ to which they responded, ‘The president of the network called and said he wants you to wear those.’”

Chris Haston/NBC

Messing’s IMDB page lists appearances on NYPD Blue and the sitcom Partners before nabbing the starring role of Stacey Colbert (opposite Thomas Haden Church) in Fox’s Ned and Stacey, which premiered in September of 1995.

“I was in shock. I was new to the industry and I just thought, ‘I can’t say no,’ you know,'” Messing continued. “Now, no one comes at me with those things. I’m like, ‘I’m flat-chested, I love it.’”

You can watch Debra Messing’s entire conversation with Sharon Stone on Variety.

Where to stream Will & Grace