Roseanne Barr Offers Valerie Jarrett An Apology and A Suggestion To “Get A New Haircut”

Roseanne Barr appeared on Hannity last night to offer an explanation and apology over her May tweet about Valerie Jarrett which was deemed “racist” and ultimately led to her getting fired from her ABC sitcom, Roseanne.

When asked what her reaction was in the aftermath of posting the tweet, the comedian said, “The first thing was shock that they were saying it’s racial when it’s political,” noting that she disagreed with Jarrett for her views on Iran. Barr also went on to say that being called racist was “the worst thing.” She continued to stand by her explanation that she “didn’t know [Jarrett] was African-American,” and that when it comes to the infamous tweet, Roseanne wishes she “worded it better, but I’m not gonna let them tell me what I meant.”

“I feel that I have apologized and explained and asked for forgiveness and made recompense,” she said. “I made a mistake, obviously. It cost me everything, my life’s work, and I’ve paid the price for it.”

When pressed by Hannity about what she would say to Jarrett if the two spoke on the phone, she said, “Let’s talk about it. Let’s really turn this into a teachable moment.” Though after apologizing, Barr also offered Jarrett the advice, “She’s gotta get a new haircut, I mean seriously.”

The entire interview was a lot of rambling, with spots of Barr getting defensive, going off on tangents about Iran, and admitting that when she composed the tweet, she was on Ambien and drinking. “It was Memorial Day, I had 2 beers,” she told Hannity.

Barr also revealed that when it comes to Twitter, “My kids took it away from me forever.” But there’s one thing she insists she won’t be losing anytime soon. After bragging that the Roseanne reboot “kicked everybody’s ass in the ratings” and that ABC “should be so lucky that they’ll ever get anywhere near that,” she also stated, “They can’t take that away from me, no matter what’s happened.”