Jim Carrey Makes His Trump Cartoons Because “I’m Done with Liars”

We finally have an answer for why comedian and star Jim Carrey has been making political cartoons. At the Television Critics Association, star Jim Carrey, creator Dave Holstein, director Michel Gondry, and the rest of Kidding‘s cast addressed the darkness in children’s entertainment before Carrey elaborated on his controversial cartoons.

Carrey called his drawings of the Trump administration his civilized way to handling politics in 2018. “It’s like with everything else, it’s really not a choice,” he said. “I’m doing cartoons because I can’t just watch this movement unfold. I have to make something.”

“Even if it’s crass, I’m expressing the crass [thing] that everyone else wants to express but can’t necessarily do so. So when I stick a flag in Trump’s ass it’s because that’s what everyone is seeing,” he said, adding, “I’m done with liars.”

The star also revealed that people have responded to his work. “I’ve gotten lots of feedback from a lot of people,” he said. “It’s how I feel so I’m glad someone is illustrating it and making a public record of it.”

However in at least one cast the feedback wasn’t glowing. Carrey mentioned that some criticisms of his depiction of Sarah Huckabee Sanders said the portrayal was sexist. However, he says he was capturing her essence. “It’s not a choice. [These paintings are] literally just happening. And I don’t know when it will stop, and I don’ know what it will turn into,” he said. “And thank god it did. It makes me feel like I’m 10 years old again.”

But overall, Kidding is not a political show. Starring Jim Carrey, Catherine Keene, and Judy Greer, Kidding tells the story of Mr. Pickles (Carrey), an iconic live-action character in children’s entertainment. He preaches about kindness and love, and his silly personality has made millions. But when his family starts to fall apart, he has to grapple with his legacy, what he’s teaching these children, and how much his network really cares about him. The series is directed by Michael Gondry, making the series the second collaboration between Carrey and Gondry after Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

In the same panel creator Dave Holstein explained that Mr. Pickles isn’t an antihero who’s trying to “break bad.” He’s a good person who’s trying to stay good in the face of trauma. It’s an oddly innocent and sweet-hearted series set against the warped perception of director Michel Gondry. The Showtime dramedy is sure to be one of the most discussed and dissected new shows of this fall season, Trump drawings or no.

Kidding premieres September 9 at 9 p.m.

Stream Kidding on Showtime