“The Last Time I Cried Was Click” (And Other Dumb Things Boys Say On Dating Apps)

Where to Stream:

Click

Powered by Reelgood

Six months ago, if you had mentioned the movie Click, I would have said “I haven’t enjoyed an Adam Sandler movie since Eight Crazy Nights.” And I would have expected most people to agree with me, at least on the point that Click is not a good movie. I feel like we collectively saw it in 2006 because universal remotes are fascinating and then quickly forgot about it, leaving it to rot along with all the other stuff that got a 33% on Rotten Tomatoes.

Things changed this May when I moved to New York and got on that dating app grind. This is when I began to notice a strange phenomena. It was the resurgence of Click into the zeitgeist – or at least into the popular culture of young professional straight dudes. I don’t know whether or not this is an ironic obsession (like how cool people wear vintage D.A.R.E shirts), or if people actually like this movie. What I do know, though, is that a lot of people are watching the movie Click (or at least claiming to). Also: it is apparently bringing them to tears?

Hinge, one of the fourteen apps I am using to find a lover, has a feature where you answer any three out of 30 or so questions, and the answers appear on your profile. One of the questions is: “The last time I cried…” and the answer to the question is, easily 33% of the time: the movie Click. You may be as surprised as I was. These straight men cannot see each other’s profiles so they may not know just how generic their answer is. And how could they? How did all of these men pick the same obscure and objectively bad movie for this joke? Are people watching Click? How did Click find its niche in the ex-frat/ current finance bro community?


It took me less than 20 minutes of swiping to find this screen grab.

Hinge Screen grab
This man watched it with his roomate? What was their decision process like? How did they settle on this movie?

hinge screen grab
The venn diagram of people who watch Click and people who don’t care about grammar and spelling is a circle.

Coco is probably the second most common answer to this question but it makes a whole lot more sense. Coco is brilliant, visually stunning, and easily accessible on Netflix (oh, and I too cried more than once while watching it). But Click? Do these guys think they are funny? Maybe. Maybe they just really love Click.

A quick perusal of Google Trends will show you that searches for this movie are growing (WHAT?!?) and some people are still searching for “click movie” (WHO?!). The most popular region for the search is Connecticut, which makes sense. I don’t care enough about this mystery to give Click a second watch. I am sure I will still hate it. Click arrives on Netflix today, September 7th, so I guess watch if and see if you cry. Or don’t. Either way, I am swiping left.

Where to stream Click