Robert Redford Backtracks on Retirement Announcement: “That Was a Mistake”

Just a few weeks after Robert Redford announced his retirement from acting, the Hollywood icon is backtracking on that statement. At the New York premiere of The Old Man & The Gun, which was widely believed to be his final film, Redford told Variety that declaring his retirement was a “mistake” and suggested that fans will see him on the big screen again soon.

When asked if he’s retiring after The Old Man & The Gun, Redford said, “That was a mistake. I should never have said that.” He explained that his announcement pulled fans’ attention away from the film itself, which he never meant to do. “If I’m going to retire, I should just slip quietly away from acting,” he said. “But I shouldn’t be talking about it because I think it draws too much attention in the wrong way. I want to be focused on this film and the cast.”

Rather than confirm or deny that David Lowery’s crime comedy is his final film, Redford played coy. “I’m not answering that,” he said. “Keep the mystery alive,” he added with a laugh.

In early August, Redford was singing a different tune. “Never say never, but I pretty well concluded that this would be it for me in terms of acting, and [I’ll] move towards retirement after this ’cause I’ve been doing it since I was 21,” the 82-year-old actor said. “I thought, ‘Well that’s enough.’ And why not go out with something that’s very upbeat and positive?”

Redford echoed that sentiment at the premiere, telling Variety that he hopes the film provides something of an escape for viewers. “We’re living in dark times,” he said. “These are really dark times we’re surrounded by, and I thought it would be nice to do something upbeat, something positive that might put a smile on your face, you hope.

The Old Man & The Gun premieres in theaters on Friday, September 28.