Stream and Scream

Killer Pets: The 9 Most Dangerous Animals In Pop Culture History

I’ll start this with a confession: I don’t like animals. Actually, let me clarify: It’s not that I don’t like animals, it’s more than it’s just that I’m not friendly with animals. And, let me assure you, the feeling is mutual. After a childhood incident not nearly traumatic enough to describe here in any sort of detail, I’ve been wary of animals (and they of me).

The great majority of people cannot understand my stance on this. Most people are dog people, and those that aren’t tend to be cat people. (Buy me a drink sometime and I’ll tell you which people I prefer.) If you’re not a dog or a cat person, you’re probably a fish person. Or a horse person. Or if you’re Jonathan Franzen, you’re very much a bird person. Point being EVERYONE has a favorite animal. Except for me.

Pop culture has gone to great lengths over the years to tell us how wonderful dogs (Lassie, Clifford, Old Yeller, Marley) and cats (Milo, Garfield, Hello Kitty, and even Mr. Bigglesworth) are, but I tend to gravitate to stories about the dark side of these furry fiends. Movies and shows in which the faith that humans put in wild animals to treat them kindly (i.e., not eat them) goes really, really wrong. It being October and all, I figured now was as good a time as any to compile a few of them here for you. If you learn but one thing from this list, animal lovers, I hope it’s this: Sleep with one eye open.

Where to stream Lady And The Tramp