Sarah Silverman Apologizes After Louis C.K. Victim Rips Her For Masturbation Comments

On Monday, Sarah Silverman revealed that Louis C.K. used to masturbate in front of her with her consent, and her comments immediately went viral. Silverman explained that they were “kids” and “equals” at the time, and she referenced the sexual harassment claims that Louis C.K. admitted are true, saying that these past moments are “not analogous to the other women that are talking about what he did to them.” Shortly after Silverman’s remarks spread, one of the women who came forward against Louis C.K., Rebecca Corry, criticized Silverman on Twitter and insisted that the male comedian is still “a predator.” Silverman apologized directly to Corry shortly after, saying that what Louis C.K. did is “not OK.”

Silverman originally revealed the sensational story on Howard Stern’s radio show, which she visited to promote her Hulu series, I Love You, America with Sarah Silverman. “I’ve known Louis forever, I’m not making excuses for him, so please don’t take this that way. We are peers. We are equals. When we were kids, and he asked if he could masturbate in front of me, sometimes I’d go, ‘Fuck yeah I want to see that!'” she said. “It’s not analogous to the other women that are talking about what he did to them. He could offer me nothing. We were only just friends. Sometimes, yeah, I wanted to see it, it was amazing. Sometimes I would say, ‘Fucking no, gross,’ and we got pizza.”

Word of the comedian’s comments spread rapidly, and just a few hours later, Corry ripped Silverman for being off-the-mark. “To be real clear, CK had ‘nothing to offer me’ as I too was his equal on the set the day he decided to sexually harass me,” Corry wrote. “He took away a day I worked years for and still has no remorse. He’s a predator who victimized women for decades and lied about it.”

Less than 30 minutes later, Silverman responded with a heartfelt apology. “Rebecca, I’m sorry. Ugh this is why I don’t like weighing in,” she said. “But you’re right- you were equals and he fucked with you and it’s not ok. I’m sorry, friend. You are so talented and kind.”

Corry responded almost immediately and thanked Silverman for the kind words. “Thank you. I know exactly how you feel. I can’t seem to live my life without getting rape & death threats, harassed & called a cunt regularly for simply telling the truth,” she said. “We deserve to do our art without having to deal with this shit.”