More From Decider

Meghan O’Keefe’s Top 10 of Everything 2018

Where to Stream:

Crazy Rich Asians

Powered by Reelgood

We have a unique tradition here at Decider. At the end of each storied year, not only do we rank the best television shows, films, and, er, sex scenes of the year, but each individual member of the team also shares his or her personal favorite pop culture events. In past years, that means I’ve ranked Game of Thrones battle scenes next to viral clips of Chris Pratt french-braiding hair, touted a Punch Brothers album, and expounded on the brilliance of Twin Peaks: The Return.

What’s cool about these lists is they serve as a sweet time capsule of what was going on in a particular year. What’s embarrassing about them is I get to reveal how much of a raging weirdo I am.

This year is no different. While other critics will be weighing the might of A Star is Born against Roma and The Favourite, I am here to tell you I dug the bear scene in Annihilation. I like chaotic sports mascots and long-form interviews with acclaimed historians. I’ve watched Crazy Rich Asians six times this year already, and I’m hoping to get that count up to 10 by the end of the month. Brace yourselves for my top 10 of everything of 2018.

1

Gritty

meghans-best-gritty
Photo: Getty Images

Is he merely a mascot, or is he a myth made real? My friend Cates Holderness and I are convinced that the Philadelphia Flyers mascot Gritty is indeed an elder god let loose on 2018 America. He has a Phantom of the Opera-like origin story, a pure love of snow, and the heart of an indefatigable warrior. He is Gritty, and he is one of the only things that gave this Philly-area native a constant stream of joy in this hellacious year of pain. Long may Gritty rule.

Follow Gritty on Twitter

2

'Crazy Rich Asians'

meghans-best-crazy-rich-asians
Photo: Everett Collection

I’ve made no secret of my intense love of Crazy Rich Asians. The long-anticipated film adaptation of Kevin Kwan’s intoxicating novels lived up to the hype. Buoyed by a brilliant ensemble cast, Crazy Rich Asians feels like some kind of modern fairy tale. Brilliant Chinese-American econ professor Rachel Chu is spirited off to Singapore by her handsome boyfriend only to discover that he is the crown prince of a lavishly rich family. Crazy Rich Asians is the frothy dream of a movie I put on whenever I need a pick-me-up.

Where to stream Crazy Rich Asians

3

'Avengers: Infinity War'

meghans-best-infinity-war
Photo: Everett Collection

I understand that technically, Black Panther was the best Marvel movie released this year, but Avengers: Infinity War snuck into my heart. The larger-than-life epic unites every hero in the MCU for a thrilling showdown with Thanos. As loud and bombastic as it is,Avengers: Infinity War is still full of little flourishes that leave me devastated (and helped me cope with actual grief). Don’t tell me that you didn’t cry when Tom Holland’s Spider-Man collapsed into “Mr. Stark’s” arms.*

*Yes, I know the lead art “spoils” one of the biggest movies of the year, but honestly, that image just screams “HOW I FELT IN 2018.”

Where to stream Avengers: Infinity War

4

'GLOW' Season 2

meghans-best-glow-s2
Photo: Netflix

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: GLOW Season 2 was the best season of TV this year. Netflix’s bonkers wrestling comedy has always been witty, fun, and full of heart, but this season the storytelling reached new depths. Stand alone episodes focused on the emotional journeys of characters — and tested the boundaries of what the show itself was. GLOW was in a word, perfect.

Watch GLOW on Netflix

5

'The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell'

meghans-best-christine-mcconnell
Photo: Netflix

Nothing has enchanted me more this year than the dark and spooky creations of Christine McConnell. Netflix promoted her show, The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell, as a Halloween-y cooking show, when it really was a magical throwback to the zany Jim Henson projects of yore. I swiftly fell in love with Christine’s oddball gang of friends: Rankle, Rose, Edgar, and of course, boytoy Norman.

Watch The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell on Netflix

6

'The Rain'

meghans-best-the-rain
Photo: Netflix

Netflix’s Danish import The Rain took me completely by surprise this spring. The dystopian thriller grabbed me in its briskly-paced opening episode, and never let me out of its clutches. I became obsessed with Simone’s fight to protect her brother Rasmus, fell hard for the kind hearted Lea, and was devastated when The Rain’s ragtag gang of survivors lost its most enigmatic member. The Rain is the show The Walking Dead wishes it could be.

Watch The Rain on Netflix

7

Robert Caro on The New Yorker Radio Hour

meghans-best-robert-caro
Photo: Getty Images

Here is where I let my nerdy freak flag fly because, like Conan O’Brien, I love Robert Caro’s history books. So one of my favorite things of the year was an in-depth conversation between Caro and novelist Colm Toibin that hit the New Yorker Radio Hour’s podcast in May. (I still haven’t deleted the episode.)

Where to listen to Robert Caro on The New Yorker Radio Hour

8

'Annihilation'

meghans-best-annihilation
Photo: Everett Collection

It’s been almost a year now since I’ve seen Alex Garland’s thriller Annihilation, and I’m still as dazzled and upset by it as I was leaving the theater. Annihilation is so haunting because it is as beautiful as it is profane. I am as in love with the exquisite final dance as I am with the grotesque “bear” scene. (And if you ask me, Natalie Portman put forth an Oscar-worthy performance in the film.) Annihilation is fucking great.

Where to stream Annihilation

9

Brie Larson's Workout Videos

So I’m kind of narc-ing on myself here, but I have probably watched Brie Larson’s workout posts on Instagram about five million times this year. Okay, so not that many times, but I’ve watched them a lot. Since running my first marathon last year, I’ve struggled to find focus in my workouts and seeing little posts like Larson’s — wherein she exuberantly attacks various strength training routines — fills me with the fire to get strong.

Follow Brie Larson on Instagram

10

Hot Bullseye

meghans-best-hot-bullseye
Photo: Netflix

The cruelest trick 2018 played? Convincing me to fall hard for a sociopathic super villain. Oh, I have it bad for Agent Benjamin Poindexter, aka “Dex,” aka “Hot Bullseye.” The problem started as soon as Daredevil Season 3 introduced the character, taking down bad guys with a sniper’s efficiency. Then, we learned more about his inner demons: he was an orphan prone to outbursts of violence thanks to his sociopathy. But he wanted to be better! And that alone had me rooting for “Hot Bullseye.” Well, that and the fact that actor Wilson Bethel looks great shirtless.

Watch Daredevil on Netflix