More From Decider

Lea Palmieri’s Top 10 of Everything in 2018

Where to Stream:

Love Island

Powered by Reelgood

I find it encouraging that when tasked with coming up my 10 favorite things of the year, I simply couldn’t narrow it down. It turns out, joy was very much alive and well in 2018  if you’re looking hard enough.

Here, and this is the whole point, is the most LEA list you’ve ever seen in your life, or at least since last December. If you too have determined your life interests to include reality TV, attractive men, and MAGIC, then you’ll find something, or many things to enjoy here amongst these 12. I know I sure have.

In 2018 I discovered the absolute GEM that is Mr. Chalamet, spent 57 hours of my life watching sexy strangers parade around in bathing suits, and laughed at a single wink more times than I should ever publicly admit. I regret nothing. In fact, I urge you to watch every thing listed here for maximum pleasure in your life.

These are the things that kept me laughing, smiling, and totally obsessing over the last 12 months, and I only hope you’re ready to do the same.

1

Timothée Chalamet

What can one even say of Timothée Chalamet? I saw Call My Be Your Name this year and it took my breath away. I got the hype, I sunk into the full-body performance Timmy delivered, and I quickly named him my favorite actor. He’s sexy in Hot Summer Nights, he’s devastating in Beautiful Boy, and he sure does a lot with only a little screen time in Lady Bird. With a full slate of interesting projects scheduled for 2019, the world is sure to join me in my obsession and I welcome them all with open arms.

Where to stream Call Me By Your Name

2

'Love Island' Season 4

There are not many shows I would happily sit through for 57 hour-long episodes (58 if you count the reunion episode I had to search for on YouTube), but Season 4 of Love Island is the true exception to the rule. The British reality show that garners millions of viewers every night over the summer in the UK landed on Hulu stateside this year and it was one of the best things that happened to me. What I thought would be a trashy, Bachelor in Paradise on steroids type show, turned out to be something so much more. It was shocking and sweet and hilarious and ridiculous at every turn. And yet, it doesn’t feel manipulated by producers the way our Bachelor shows do here. It felt like observing sexy singles in the wild, almost like a nature documentary with bikinis. I haven’t shut up about this show and anyone that listens and gives it a chance understands why. Don’t Google anything about it until the end, just jump right in. if you’re anything like me, you’ll find yourself falling in love with the contestants, following them on Instagram, and making it your mission to get the rest of America hooked ASAP.

PS – there is an American version coming in 2019, so be sure to enjoy the UK version now so you can brag later that “It’s not as good as the original.”

Where to stream Love Island

3

LeBron James

LeBron James also made my list in 2017 because of two simple words, “U bum.” This year he makes the list for so much more.

On the producing end, I loved HBO’s The Shop and Showtime’s documentary series Shut Up and Dribble, both highlighting the intersection of politics, pop culture, and basketball, and exactly how James fits into all of that.

On the personal end, I could watch him sing Frozen songs with his daughter on Instagram every single day and love it more each time.

And on the professional end, the opening of the I Promise school in Ohio is nothing short of a life-saving move. This is a man who puts his money where his mouth is, who is helping students and families live their best lives, and using his money and influence to actually change the world. I don’t know how with each passing year he gets more brilliant, but I can’t wait to see what he does in 2019.

Where to stream Shut Up and Dribble

4

'Below Deck Mediterranean' Season 3

Let’s be 100% clear here: these women were terrible. But they were the first charter guests for Season 3 of Below Deck Mediterranean on Bravo and they got me HOOKED on this season. It was a season that went on to reveal that chief stew Hannah is a true reality show QUEEN (“Quack quack, bitch,” is a particularly memorable phrase she muttered under her breath). Her relationship with the adorable younger bosun Conrad was sexy and compelling and ended in a fight over money for cigarettes that took place across over no less than a half dozen locations in one night (brilliant). There was a vicious love triangle, a major meltdown over the timing of having one Coke, the phrase “snappin’ a dickie,” and the fact that this show was the perfect summer escape. Every episode was funny and dramatic and made me want to be BFFs with every crew member on that boat. I’d eat anything Chef Adam wanted to cook for me, even if it was intended for a dog instead. It would still look damn good. Below Deck Med, more than nearly any other show this year, was the one I would get tingly for in anticipation of a new episode every week.

Where to stream Below Deck Mediterranean

5

Justin Timberlake's Creepy Wink

It takes a special person to make a late night talk show appearance, without being able to talk, and still manage to provide one of the funniest moments to hit the internet this year. Justin Timberlake’s poor bruised vocal chords are in the process of healing themselves by chilling out for a while, but that wasn’t going to stop the rest of the man from stopping by his bestie’s talk show to promote his new book. During a game of the genius Slow Turn, Tiny Nod, JT and Jimmy prove that words aren’t even necessary for a perfect TV spot. But it’s Justin’s second round of the game, and specifically, the moment he’s asked to demonstrate a creepy wink that gets me every. damn. time. Just listen to Jimmy’s laugh. That’s me. That’s how I feel about the whole thing. What?! and Oh My God included. It’s brief, it’s creepy, and it’s the late night talk show moment of the year. Sometimes a wink says it all.

Where to stream The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

6

MAGIC!

I fucking LOVE magic. This was a new fact I learned about myself in 2018, with a little help from these TV shows. ABC’s Deception was canceled after one season but it was a really well done drama that found a magician helping the FBI to solve crimes. I mean, come on, what’s more entertaining than that premise?

So when Netflix dropped Magic For Humans, the Justin Willman hosted six-episode series, I was ready. Ranging from simply silly to shocking, the tricks he pulls off here will have your face muscles exhausted from smiling so freakin’ hard while watching. It’s impossible not to have your mood boosted after watching this show for like, five minutes. It’s so delightful and impressive, you’d be a total fool to not binge it now.

Which brings us to Netflix’s latest magic offering, Death By Magic from magician DMC. This one gets a little darker and more daring in its stunts but is sure to have your mouth hanging open in awe too.

Because the biggest magic trick these shows pulled off is the ability to make me believe. In 2018, it is actually possible to drop the cynicism, to allow yourself to believe in a bit of wonder, to embrace the things we can’t quite understand and appreciate them for the real magic that they just might be.

Where to stream Magic For Humans

7

Female-led films

What a beautiful, wonderful year for female-led films 2018 was. The ones I found the most entertaining boasted no fewer than two great lady leads, and the results of the Bechdel test in 2018 should be off the charts. While the hunky lead of Netflix’s Ibiza also appears on this list, I loved the fact that three women, an odd number even, starred in a movie about gal pals (Phoebe Robinson, Gillian Jacobs, and Vanessa Bayer) going on vacation together and only having each other’s backs the whole time. No bitching, no cat fights, just partying and supporting and enjoying each other’s company. It was not only refreshing, but a lot of fun. As was The Spy Who Dumped Me, an action comedy that brilliantly paired Mila Kunis and Kate McKinnon for adventures and laughs. A Simple Favor kicked our Blake Lively obsession into high-gear, and along with Anna Kendrick, gave these two female superstars a lot to work with. Oh, and then there’s Ocean’s 8, which didn’t feature just one or two or three fabulous females but EIGHT of them, sneaky and sexy in their own ways. Plus, as we head into awards season, I’m fully here for the celebrations focused around Olivia Colman, Rachel Weisz, and Emma Stone in The Favourite, which wisely lets the ladies have all the fun. As a wise woman once asked, who run the world? Girls.

Where to stream Ibiza

8

'Patriot Act' Deep Cuts

Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj has been one of the most refreshing additions to the Netflix catalogue this year, and while each episode is an in-depth look at topics we all have a surface knowledge of, it’s the Deep Cuts YouTube videos that I can’t wait to click on. The brief videos give a look at host Minhaj answering audience questions that range in topics from basketball to his culture and even to a matchmaking session gone wrong. They’re always informative, funny, and awkward while giving yet another look at what a nimble, impactful host Minhaj really is. Watch them all, they’re all great.

Where to stream Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj

9

Richard Madden

This year, I bravely continued my tradition of avoiding Game of Thrones altogether, so I was only minimally aware of Richard Madden’s existence on this planet. Ibiza changed the game. As the hunky yet dorky DJ, Madden was given the perfect rom-com role to show off that charm and Scottish accent. I was straight up swooning, y’all. Still am! Because he followed that up with his super serious role in Bodyguard, a massive hit in the UK and now available on Netflix. In fact, he was so damn good, he’s stirring up rumors of being the next Bond. He’s been a frequent topic of conversation with my friends at dinner, and I am thankful to Netflix for serving up the Richard Madden content I didn’t even know I craved this year.

Where to stream Bodyguard

10

'To All The Boys I've Loved Before'

This movie has been in the world for four months and thinking about it still makes me smile. If you haven’t seen it yet then clearly we haven’t spoken since July. I watched To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before FOUR times before it premiered on Netflix and promptly began gushing to everyone. I didn’t know if it would be the massive hit it’s become, but I knew I loved it and it touched my heart and made me feel good. Of course Noah Centineo was the crush of all crushes as Peter Kavinsky, but it was Lana Condor who carried this movie, who made it relatable and sweet and so damn fun to rewatch. The premise was simple, the end was the way it was supposed to be, and the journey filled us all up inside with butterflies and warm fuzzies and that precious hope for love and all the good things in the world. Yes, this is a teen rom-com, but it’s one done SO right.

Where to stream To All The Boys I've Loved Before

11

James Acaster

It’s one thing to drop a comedy special on Netflix, but it’s another to drop four at the same time. And, to have every one of those four hours be special in their own way. But that’s precisely what British comedian James Acaster accomplished this year with Repertoire, introducing himself to international audiences and quickly becoming one of my very favorite comedians today. These specials are totally weird and unexpected and packed with giggles, but I also had the pleasure of seeing him perform in NYC this spring and am crossing all my fingers that his recent material makes it into another Netflix special very soon. This guy is freakin’ funny.

Where to stream James Acaster: Repertoire

12

'Jersey Shore Family Vacation'

I laughed, I gasped, and I craved a funfetti cake every episode of this show’s return. I didn’t see it coming either, but Jersey Shore Family Vacation was the perfect reboot. The goofballs we’ve always loved have helped the show evolve to new places while sticking to their mission of having a good time.

The MTV series wasn’t afraid to show a crazy serious issue (Ron & Jen’s whole thing), that people really could change (Big Daddy Sitch), and the hottest new dance moves on the scene (Vinnie). I teared up when Jenni opened up about the others not participating in her Mother’s Day Video and when Deena announced her pregnancy and even when Snooki snatched the duck phone for their new home. I…care about these people? This season has run about 10 episodes too long, but hey, I’m the one still watching and loving it.

Where to stream Jersey Shore Family Vacation