More From Decider

Decider Lists

Dillen Danger’s Top 10 (Really 18) of Everything in 2018

Hello, it’s me again, Dillen Danger! Decider.com’s digital art ghoul. What we have here is a list of things I saw that I really liked this year, my top 18 of ’18. Before we start I just want to say that I didn’t include Avengers: Infinity War or Black Panther on my list. Not because I didn’t think they deserved it, they most certainly do, but because I wanted to free up space to highlight other media some of you may not have seen. I’ve been reading Marvel Comics since 1989, love you Marvel. I also want to acknowledge that I couldn’t come close to seeing every movie or watching every TV series I wanted to, off the top of my head I still need to see Suspiria and The Ritual. With that out of the way, I hope you enjoy what I enjoyed…

'Steven Universe'

Doin' what other shows can't, but wish they could

steven and the gang
Cartoon network

Steven Universe continues to be a bright, brilliant beacon of hope, joy, and love in our dark timeline. This year they made LGBT history with an adorable same-sex wedding in Season 5, episode 21, “The Question”. Watch it and witness the first same-sex wedding ever animated for TV.

Ruby proposes
Cartoon Network

They also did something that few television series attempt and even fewer are successful at, but I don’t want to give away anything spoilery so just watch episode 18 of season 5, “A Single Pale Rose”. Then read this article by Decider’s Kayla Cobb.

pink diamond
Cartoon Network

Stream previous seasons of Steven Universe on HULU

Fangoria

Rise From Your Grave!

fango
Cinestate

Back when I was just a wee teenage horror fan dirtbag, one of my joys in life was getting my beloved FANGORIA in the mail. I think I asked for a year’s subscription for my birthday back in ’95 or so. I loved that publication and was downright giddy when it was announced that FANGO was back! Now a quarterly magazine with a great creative team behind it, the first issue dropped in October and did not disappoint. Print isn’t dead, baby, it’s UNDEAD.

'REVENGE'

The Blood Has A Life Of Its Own

blood gif 2
Shudder

Let the slaughtering of the men commence! I loved Coralie Fargeat’s Revenge, in particular, the application, use, and presentation of blood. There is a very stylized approach here, with the blood oozing from flesh in this movie sounding like a water feature or a sink faucet. The gallons of crimson human juice are sprayed, splattered, and splash in a beautifully exaggerated, ultra-violent way. The average adult has about 1.2 to 1.5 gallons (4.5 to 5.5 liters) of blood circulating inside their body, but we are truly blessed that Revenge rejects this notion. Big thank you to Decider’s Karen Kemmerle for telling me to give this one a watch.

man tries to pry glass from his foot

Where to stream Revenge

'Annihilation'

On top of everything else... The "Help Me" Bear

God, I like it weird. Although it could have been even weirder, I still LOVED Annihilation. Everything about it, form the cast of badass ladies, to the elegant and gnarly creature designs. I was immediately impressed with the “Help Me” Bear the second it came on screen. So sick, so rad.

Joe Reid thinks you should watch Annihilation as well.

help me bear sniffs Natalie Portman in Annihilation
Paramount Pictures

Try to sleep after that.

Stream Annihilation on EPIX

'Mission: Impossible: Fallout', Bathroom Fight

Doin' The Lawd's Work, In The Shitter

Mission: Impossible: Fallout is a grand action film, no doubt. It’s got something for every fan of the genre. The scene that grabbed me (and everyone else) early on was the bathroom fight, you know the one.

Tom Cruise and Henry Cavill descend upon Liang Ying in a fancy bathroom and proceed to wreck house. When the sequence picks up, Cruise demonstrates his fighting style that we have become accustomed to in most of the M.I. films, which is a scientific blend, generous with the elbows. We are then introduced to Cavill’s very heavy-handed, blunt, western, style of fighting, a great fit for his build. These two would have been enjoyable to watch fighting anyone, but what takes this fight to the next level is Liang Ying. Ying’s improvisational, fluid, Eastern style is a perfect counter to Cruise and is in complete and utter contrast to Cavill’s. He is the push and the pull to this sequence, and Ying gloriously leads Cruise and Cavill in a three way dance of destruction.

Thrown through the looking glass
Paramount Pictures

THIS GUY. Liang Ying. Is The Man.

Man on the floor of the bathroom
Paramount Pictures

Where to stream Mission: Impossible: Fallout

X-Men Grand Design Treasury Edition

X-Men For Everyone

x-men grand design
MARVEL

An X-Men Oral History/Hand Guide By Ed Piskor, man this guy is good.

Imagine you were trying to get a grasp of the lineage and mythology of one of the most convoluted team histories in comics. Then imagine you had a genius older brother that took those decades of backstory and drew it all out for you, in a beautifully simplistic, easy to digest way. Honestly, if you’ve ever been an X-Men fan at any point in your life or you’ve been curious about them, read this book.

CupcakKe - "Duck Duck Goose" (Official Music Video) NSFW

You Aren't Ready For Her, But She's Ready For You

CupcakKe - Duck Duck Goose
youtube

Hey remember my NSFW music video from last year, got another one for ya… Now, Childish Gambino’s “This Is America” is probably the best music video of the year. Duh. But CupcakKe is doing amazing things here and I want to share this video with you. She raps with a power and confidence that really shines through in “Duck Duck Goose”, give it a watch/listen, maybe you’ll be inspired by her “High Self Esteem Pussy”.

'She-Ra and the Princesses of Power'

Represent!

she-ra 1
NETFLIX

She-Ra is back! This time it’s overflowing with incredible representation, great storytelling, and amazing characters, including some of the best villains in an animated series ever. DreamWorks TV and NETFLIX have knocked it out of the park. Give it a watch if you enjoyed Voltron Legendary Defender, The Legend of Korra, or Steven Universe.

Where to stream She-Ra and the Princesses of Power

'Mandy'

Everything About This Movie

mandy -01

Just a really good time. I mean… this is one of the most metal movies to come out in a while. Chainsaws, Crossbows, LSD Jesus Cults, Psycho Bikers, A Crazy Ass Giant Axe, A Dude With A Knife Dick, this movie has something for everyone (who has a very specific taste in movies). Don’t get too high before viewing, but def get a little high…

Nic Cage in Mandy

Where to stream Mandy

'The Night Comes for Us'

So much Fight

The Night Comes for Us
NETFLIX

You have NEVER seen this many people get rekt this badly in one movie. As a former MCMAP (Marine Corps Martial Arts) Instructor, I really appreciate a good arm or leg break in a fight scene.

Gnarly Arm Break
NETFLIX

I also happen to be a fan of well-choreographed knife fights. This movie made me very happy.

Woman with a knife, slaying dudes

If you are a fan of The Raid series of films or The man From Nowhere, this is a must watch.

Where to stream The Night Comes For Us

'The Strangers: Prey at Night'

...But Dat Pool Scene

strangers Prey at Night
Aviron Pictures

The Strangers: Prey at Night is…fine. It’s a solid horror flick, nothing too amazing…

Then this happens, a crazy super zoom, warms and cools via plastic neon lit palm trees… and “A Total Eclipse Of The Heart” playing over the loud speakers. What follows is a gritty, brutal game of cat and mouse around and in a pool. This scene was worth the price of admission.

Here is a much smarter person than myself, Decider’s Joe Reid talking about the film overall.

Aviron Pictures

Where to stream The Strangers: Prey at Night

The 'Adventure Time' Finale

Bitter. Sweet.

Adventure Time Finale
Cartoon Network

Honestly, I’m not a writer so I’m not sure I have the vocabulary for this. It was very good, in a happy/sad/I want to go back to the beginning kind of way.

Cartoon Network

Kayla has a much better handle on the series finale, read about it here.

Where to stream Adventure Time

'Sorry To Bother You'

The Movie America Needs Always

sorry to bother you
Photo: Everett Collection

This movie is more important than it looked in the trailers. Trust me. A surrealist, sci-fi satire that as dark as it is still manages to maintain some levity to it. I can’t go on enough about how impressed I was with this film’s ability to comment on Everything, I mean Everything. Boots Riley is a damn genius. Also what have we done on this earth to deserve Tessa Thompson?

Where to stream Sorry To Bother You

'The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell'

Just What The Doctor Or Mad Scientist Ordered

The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell
Netflix

I needed this show this year and you probably do too. Christine McConnell is a vision. We are all blessed to live in a world where she shares her talents with us, bow before her you insolent swine!

I love the puppets, too.

Here is Brett White talking about the show’s similarities to the classic Addams Family series.

Here is Meghan O’Keefe explaining how those murderous muppets came to be.

Where to stream The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell

'A Quiet Place'

Short & Sweet

a quiet place
Photo: Everett Collection

A Quiet Place was great for a number of reasons, here are just a few:

  • It came in at a tight 1 hour 30 min
  • Had a simple premise and stuck to it
  • The sound editing

Where to stream A Quiet Place

'Hereditary'

It's A Family Affair

Hereditary
Photo: A24

Did you like The VVitch? No? Then GTFO.

If you did, then odds are that you’ll probably enjoy this incredibly unnerving story. The less I say about what happens plot-wise, the better. Toni Collette absolutely kills and I believe everything she feels and says in her performance. From this day forward I will call her Horror Mom, it has been decreed.

Joe Reid has some interesting things to say about Hereditary and The Witch here.

Where to stream Hereditary

'The Americans' Final Season

Why Did I Sleep On This Show For So Long?!

The Americans Season 6
Photo: FX

I have only seen the last season of the FX series, The Americans, and I am disappointed in myself for not getting on sooner.  Everything about it is fantastic. I’ll point out that the way Keri Russell moves, fights and kills while is very competent, very believable. Shout out to Decider’s Lea Palmieri for turning me on to this show, here’s Lea talking about the series finale.

Where to stream The Americans

'Halloween'

halloween
Blumhouse

This is good horror. This is a good movie. This is the sequel and finale to Halloween we deserve.

Jamie Lee curtis looking like a bad ass cleaning her rifle
Everett Collection

A story about trauma, family, and the boogie man,  and it’s all handled so well.

Here are some thoughts on Halloween (2018) by Decider’s Joe Reid.

Where to stream Halloween