Miley Cyrus Makes “Santa Baby” Woke: “Listen Santa, A Girl’s Best Friend is Equal Pay”

Where to Stream:

The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

Powered by Reelgood

Classic Christmas song “Santa Baby” is getting an update thanks to Miley Cyrus. On Thursday night, Cyrus stopped by The Tonight Show, where she gave “Santa Baby” a face-lift to meet today’s standards. I may be biased as a Christmas music hater, but Cyrus’ performance was all kinds of amazing, and honestly, I would be totally fine if her version of “Santa Baby” played on the radio for every holiday season to come.

Cyrus’ rendition of “Santa Baby” began with a re-examination of some of the song’s more questionable lyrics. “Look at this. I’m asking for a car and a yacht and checks and literally the deed to a platinum mine,” she told host Jimmy Fallon. “Am I saying that I want to hook up with Santa if he buys me all this stuff?” After getting a last-minute OK from Fallon to change the lyrics, Cyrus, Fallon, and Mark Ronson headed on stage for a performance you won’t soon forget.

The updated “Santa Baby” began pretty innocently, but by the second verse, Cyrus was ready to get down to business. “Santa, baby, I don’t fancy any fancy jewelry, not me,” she sang. “I’ve got something else in mind. Santa baby, and I don’t need your presents tonight.” After explaining that she “can buy [her] own damn stuff,” Cyrus told Santa what she really wants for Christmas: “equal pay” and respect. “Santa baby, I’d love to know my ass won’t get grabbed, at work. By some ignorant jerk. Tell the dirtbags, to put away their chimneys tonight,” sang Cyrus.

Watch Cyrus perform her updated “Santa Baby” above, and check out the fully lyrics here, courtesy of The Tonight Show:

Santa, baby, I hear you’ve got some presents
For me, Miley
I’ve been an awfully good girl,
Santa baby, so hurry down the chimney tonight

Santa, baby, I don’t fancy any fancy jewelry, not me
I’ve got something else in mind
Santa baby, and I don’t need your presents tonight

Don’t want diamonds, cash or stocks
Nothing that comes in a box
No more fluff, I’ve had enough
And I can buy my own damn stuff

Santa baby, I’ve got a baller car of my own,
No loans,
And I bought it myself
Santa baby, with zero help from Elf on the Shelf

Listen Santa to what I say
A girl’s best friend is equal pay
Stop interrupting me when I talk
And don’t text me pictures of your–

Santa baby, I’d love to know my ass won’t get grabbed
At work
By some ignorant jerk
Tell the dirtbags, to put away their chimneys tonight

Sorry, Santa
Just put away your chimney tonight!

Just put away your chimney tonight!

Where to stream The Tonight Show