Pamela Adlon on How ‘Better Things’ Has Changed Since Louis C.K’s Firing

Losing a major creator behind the scenes will always impact a show, but when that creator is caught in the midst of sexual assault allegations, things get even trickier. How does it change the behind the scene dynamic? What about the content you put on screen?

Pamela Adlon addressed all of that at the Television Critics Associations 2019 winter tour, explaining how her critically-acclaimed dramedy has changed since the firing of Louis C.K.

“Well it’s different in that I didn’t have him, the only person to write with,” Adlon said when asked how her writers room changed after Louis C.K. was removed from her show. “Instead of just two people concentrating it was five of us in one direction.”

Previously known for her work on King of the Hill and Californication, Adlon first started working with C.K. on the short-lived HBO show Lucky Louie. She then started collaborating with him on FX’s Louie, and the pair later produced Adlon’s critically-praised FX series Better Things.

Adlon and her series about a single mom raising three girls were among the many affected by Louis C.K.’s fall from Hollywood. After years of industry rumors, in 2017 the New York Times published an exposé accusing Louis C.K. of sexual misconduct. Though the comedian initially denied the allegations, he later admitted to them. Shortly after Louis C.K. made a statement confirming the Times story, FX canceled Louie and pulled the series from its lineup. The comedian’s other two shows, Zach Galifianakis’ Baskets and Adlon’s Better Things, continued on the network after C.K. was removed from them as a producer and showrunner.

Though Adlon didn’t directly address the allegations against C.K. at TCA — a topic she has covered in depth in the past — she explained how she used this season to address power abuse in Hollywood. Turns out, Better Things Season 3 involves a subplot about a borderline abusive director.

“I have been working [in Hollywood] since I was nine years old so I’ve seen everything,” Adlon said. “I wanted put in the show. It was important to me because … I see that people are interested in the story of making my show because now I’m running it and directing it and acting with these guys and writing it. Also, I’m also trying to make a model for a kinder, gentler workplace. It doesn’t have to be this scary thing.”

The Emmy-winning actress revealed that when she was 15 a director told her to take off her towel and show her butt because it would be “funny.” “When I was 19 I had already seen some shit,” she said, laughing, to Mikey Madison, Hannah Alligood, and Olivia Edward, the young stars who play her children.

“I like now that I’m in a place where I hire people, and I make a safe space,” Adlon added.

FX CEO John Landgraf also gave a statement about Louis C.K. during his executive session at TCA. During the Q&A Landgraf was asked about his response to one of C.K.’s newest jokes, which claims he lost “$35 million in an hour.” FX rapidly cutting ties with the creator is presumably one of the major causes of this monetary loss.

“I think he can make light of it if he wants,” said Landgraf. “I’m sure losing all that money was painful for him.”

Where to stream Better Things