Juliette Binoche Defends Harvey Weinstein Amid Sexual Assault Allegations: “He’s Had Enough”

Oscar-winning actress Juliette Binoche is coming to Harvey Weinstein‘s defense. At the Berlin Film Festival this week, Binoche, who is also serving as the festival’s jury president, seemed to call for and end to the public shaming of Weinstein, saying that the disgraced producer has “had enough.” The Chocolat star went on to say that she “never had problems” with Weinstein, and despite the multiple sexual assault allegations levied against him, “we shouldn’t forget” that he was “a great producer” throughout his career.

When asked about Weinstein, her producer on films including Chocolat and The English Patient (for which she won the Best Actress Oscar), Binoche said that answering would be “opening a book that has already been opened and discussed, I’ve said what I had to say.” However, after a beat, she touched upon the subject, saying, ” I almost want to say peace to his mind and heart, that’s all.” Binoche then added that she’s “trying to put [her] feet in his shoes,” and she believes that “he’s had enough” of the criticism. “Now, I think we have to — justice has to do its work,” she said.

“I expressed myself,” she continued. “I never had problems with him. I could see he had problems, but as a producer he was wonderful, most of the time. I think he was a great producer, and that we shouldn’t forget even though it’s been difficult for some directors and actors, and especially actresses. But I want to see peace to his mind, and let justice do what it needs to do.”

Weinstein has denied the sexual assault and misconduct allegations against him, calling any claims of non-consensual sex “patently false.” He is currently facing multiple criminal and civil charges for sexual assault, including rape.

Watch Binoche defend Weinstein in the clip above.

Where to stream The English Patient