Stephen Colbert Says Donald Trump Is A ‘Delicious Idiot’ Who Steals His Lines

Over the weekend, Stephen Colbert appeared at PaleyFest in Los Angeles for a segment titled CBSAn Evening with Stephen Colbert to talk about his political leanings as well as his transition from The Colbert Report to The Late Show in 2014. Despite Donald Trump’s recent criticism of late night hosts for lacking talent, Colbert claims that the President has actually stolen some of his lines from The Colbert Report.

“He could have stolen a lot of my lines,” Colbert quipped during the interview. “He stole a thing the other day. We actually ran a clip of me saying it on the old show.”

“He (Trump) said, ‘I don’t use my brain, I use my gut,’ and that’s literally the opening of The Colbert Report,” said Colbert. “I said, ‘Did you know there are more nerve endings in your gut than in your brain?’ He just said that. He is a delicious idiot.”

According to The Hollywood Reporter, the late night host also spoke about his decision to call Trump an “idiot” for the first time on television. Showrunner Chris Licht had asked him, “Are you sure you want to call the President of the United States an idiot?” to which Colbert responded “I’m pretty sure.”

The Colbert Report, which ran from 2005-2014, positioned the host in a very different light, portraying “the American neutral” as a “white, straight, male, Christian” character which he joked to moderator Pete Holmes (Crashing), would not work comedically today since it is “an actual political position now.”

Despite his clever banter, Colbert assured the audience that his goal for The Late Show is to bring people together and to “make everybody feel better.” “When we’re laughing, we’re not afraid,” he explained. “I don’t think what I’m saying is important, I don’t think it’s going to change people’s minds, I don’t think I’m a political player.”

Michael is a music and television junkie keen on most things that are not a complete and total bore. You can follow him on Twitter@Tweetskoor

STREAM THE LATE SHOW WITH STEPHEN COLBERT ON CBS ALL ACCESS