Ayesha Curry Opens Up About Steph on ‘Red Table Talk’: “The Ladies Will Always Be Lurking”

Steph Curry’s Golden State Warriors may be tied 2-2 in the NBA playoffs, but his wife Ayesha is 1-0 against the haters. This week, Ayesha Curry sat down with Jada Pinkett Smith on her Facebook Watch show Red Table Talk, and the NBA wife spoke frankly about her marriage, her career, and the many women “lurking” around her husband. Curry said that she “honestly hate[s] it” when women hang around Steph “hoping for their moment and waiting,” particularly because her husband is often too “friendly” to push the “NBA groupies” away. Curry’s comments ignited some harsh reaction from social media users, some of whom slammed her for being a “pick me” woman.

On the most recent episode of Red Table Talk, the Pinkett Smith women traveled to Charlotte, North Carolina to interview the women of the Curry family. Almost immediately after sitting down, Pinkett Smith jumped right into it. “How do y’all deal with all the ladies around y’all men?” she asked. Sonya Curry, Steph’s mother and wife of former Charlotte Hornet Dell Curry, said that she enjoyed when women would come up to her husband at clubs. “I kind of liked it,” said Sonya. “Because to me, I was like, that’s my man.”

Ayesha Curry felt differently. “Stephen is very nice by nature. And he’s very talkative,” she began somewhat tentatively. “So everything’s always very friendly. And sometimes to the point where I’m like, okay I’m a grown woman, so I’ll just insert myself. And be like, ‘Hello. How are you doing?'” While Curry said she’s “okay with it now,” she admitted that constantly meeting people, particularly women, is sometimes difficult to handle. “Obviously you know the devil is a liar, and the ladies will always be lurking, hoping for their moment and waiting. You need to be aware of that,” she told the table.

“Honestly, I hate it,” continued Curry. “I don’t like when I feel like, leveled off with somebody. It just irks my nerves.” She explained that she shared her feelings with Steph, and now, “he tries really, really hard” to make sure she’s introduced and included in the conversation. “I don’t like to have to introduce myself. It irks my nerves. So I try and make that known,” said Curry. “But there have been a couple of times when I’ve wanted to punch somebody in the face, that’s for sure. That’s human nature.”

Curry went on to say that “it’s never [Steph]” being rude, “it’s always the other person.” Explained the television personality and author, “He doesn’t necessarily know how to deal with that because he’s a generally nice human being, and he can’t see it coming. I see it coming from a mile away.”

Curry’s Red Table Talk comments kicked off a divisive debate among social media users. Some felt that her concerns about other women were justified, while others slammed her for being a “pick me,” a woman who demands attention from members of the opposite sex.

Regardless of how you feel about the Currys, their Red Table Talk interview is worth your time. Stream it now on Facebook Watch.

Watch Red Table Talk "First Ladies of the NBA" on Facebook Watch