‘The View’ Tears Into Madonna for British Vogue Interview: “Really Unrelatable to Women”

The women of The View are not feeling Madonna‘s power. This week, the legendary pop star made waves when she told British Vogue that she’s “being punished for turning 60.” Madonna’s sentiment didn’t sit well with The View‘s panel, which discussed the interview during Hot Topics on Tuesday morning. With the exception of Joy Behar, the co-hosts were united in skewering Madonna for her “unrelatable” comments, and they slammed her for ignoring the accomplishments of other female singers, including Diana Ross and Grace Jones. “I don’t feel sorry for Madonna. I really don’t,” insisted Abby Huntsman.

As soon as Moderator Whoopi Goldberg first introduced the segment, it was clear she had an opinion. “So, Madonna’s on the cover of British Vogue where she says that people have always been trying to silence her for one reason for another,” she said. “That she’s not pretty enough, she’s not talented enough, and now that she’s 60, she’s not young enough.” Goldberg said that this “happens to everyone,” so Madonna should be fine if “somebody else takes their time in the sun.” Behar disagreed, saying that male rock stars like the Rolling Stones are still out on tour despite their age. “She’s got a real complaint,” said Behar. “Not really. She’s still producing music. She’s going on tour, I’m sure with a new album,” fired back Goldberg.

Like Goldberg, Huntsman was also fired up. “She just needs to see the glass half full. I found this interview to be really unrelatable to women. And no humility,” said Huntsman. “She has been so lucky in her life.  Every step of the way, she said, ‘I have no living role models to look up to because nobody does what I do. No one has raised six kids as a single mom and have the voice that I do.'” Goldberg countered Madonna’s woe is me tale, adding, “What? Diana Ross! There’s a lot of people out there.”

Meghan McCain agreed with her co-hosts. “There’s a lot of women in their sixties and beyond who are creating amazing music, going on tour,” she said, citing legends like Pat Benatar, Cher, and Stevie Nicks. “I don’t care about age, we’re all different ages. Age is just a number. Trust me, you guys hustle harder than anyone I know,” continued McCain. “Grace Jones! I’m sorry, Grace Jones!” added Goldberg. “Oh my god, Grace Jones!” yelled McCain in agreement. “Her Marc Jacobs — I’m sorry, Grace Jones!”

Finally it was Sunny Hostin’s time to chime in, although she kept it a bit more diplomatic. “I do think ageism is real when it comes to women, and there is a difference between women and men,” said Hostin. “And I think she didn’t put it well. It didn’t land well for me.” Huntsman immediately interrupted, saying, “Yeah, I don’t feel sorry for Madonna. I really don’t.”

Hostin went on to mention Madonna’s comments about her children, but Goldberg stopped her. “People have always been raising kids,” said The View‘s moderator. “Listen, you can still be the rock and roller that you are and the great mover and shaker that you are, but you can’t say that no one else has done it. Because amazing women in rock and roll are still doing it.”

Check out The View‘s savage takedown of Madonna in the clip above.

Where to stream The View