9 Secrets Behind The ‘Southern Charm’ Season 6 Premiere

If that episode was any indication, and fans of this show know that it definitely was, Season 6 of Southern Charm is going to be a really fun one. And to understand exactly how much fun we’re all in for, I traveled down to Charleston, South Carolina to chat with the cast about what’s headed to our screens. And even after that first episode, I already had some questions, as I’m sure you did too. So from pillows to pets, the cast dished on nine things we didn’t see, or didn’t know, that happened during the episode.

1. The Perfect Pillow

It turns out, the pillow that Craig Conover brought Patricia Altschul was not just thoughtful, it was exactly the right fit. “You gave me an apricot pillow and it has a flamingo on it,” Altschul told him as I was seated across from them in her gorgeous Charleston home earlier this month. “It was interesting because all the pillows I have for outside are pink and apricot. So it matches perfectly. And it’s bigger so it’s more comfortable. I was happy about that, it worked out nicely,” she complimented him.

“It was awkward walking in with it,” Conover admitted.

Craig and his date Caroline on Southern Charm
Bravo

2. Diffusing The Situation

Of course Conover wasn’t the only one who knew not to arrive empty-handed. Dennis also brought the most beautifully wrapped gift ever as a hostess present for Altschul. But we never got to see what was inside! “It was a beautiful crystal diffuser with a big crystal bottle full of the perfume that goes in it,” Altschul told me. “It was very elegant, very nice.”

“That’s a pretty sophisticated gift,” Conover agreed.

3. Room For Improvement

Perhaps slightly less sophisticated was new cast member Eliza Limehouse’s approach to winning over Dennis. Limehouse is already starting on rocky ground as she is friends with Thomas Ravenel and his girlfriend Ashley Jacobs, but then to offer up Dennis as a potential surrogate for a baby created with Shep Rose’s sperm and Cameran Eubanks’ egg? It was strange, and enough for Dennis to want to avoid her at all costs. Even Austen Kroll told me he wasn’t too interested in getting to know Limehouse further. “None of us were,” Naomie Olindo admitted, “But she invited Danni and I out to her plantation to ride,” and that was how they got to know the youngest member of the cast. “She’s much better one-on-one than she is in a group. That’s when we heard her explanation for why she was acting like that.” There’s a glimpse of this moment in the Season 6 trailer, and we’re sure to see more of it soon.

4. Ribbing The Rookie

When I asked Rose about one of his favorite aspects of the show he replied, “Me and Whitney being absolutely offensive but funny as hell.” And it turns out, it happened at the dinner party. “There was this part where I said ‘goddamn’ and Eliza said, ‘How dare you!’ And our eyes lit up. We just started being blasphemous just to get under her skin and get her riled up. To me, that’s the most fun. It’s the comedy and there’s some definite comedy in the show.”

Shep and Eliza on Southern Charm
Bravo

5. Shep’s Quips

And Shep’s not the only one that enjoys the things he says. “My favorite part of the whole thing is when Shep goes, ‘I want to die,'” Olindo said, also noting that “it was so juicy with the Thomas stuff.” Kroll also admitted to finding the show rather funny. “The show really does captivate me, it’s a good show,” he said.

6. Gossip Guy

But that’s probably because it showcased Kroll doing what he does best: gossiping. “I’m not above it and I’m not gonna act like I don’t,” he laughed when I called him out on gabbing about the possible Kathryn/Whitney hookup. But maybe he wasn’t the only one gossiping, and just the only one we saw on camera. “A lot of people had been talking about it, and I was person number six to find out and Chelsea was person number seven,” he reasoned. “We all knew,” Olindo confirmed.

“I think that Cam knew, and then was talking to Madison and then Patricia knew, and it was like, come on. Everyone knew,” Kroll said.

“Kathryn told us after it happened but swore us to secrecy so we didn’t think we could talk about it, until then it came out and she was like well, yeah,” Olindo dished.

“Madison finds out the drama before me because Patricia always knows the drama. So I tell Madison stuff and she’s like, ‘Yeah honey, I knew,’ Kroll said of his girlfriend. “I’m like, why didn’t you tell me?” he asked

“Hairdressers know everything,” Olindo said.

Austen on Southern Charm
Bravo

7. Mom Stays Mum

When I asked Altschul if it’s weird or awkward when rumors about who her son may or may not be sleeping with arise, she stated, “Not in this group. What Whitney has always said is that southern gentleman don’t kiss and tell. All these people on the show are consenting adults. People are always busybodies, ‘Oh, she slept with him,’ and a lot of that. My feeling is, who cares?

Me, for one! But what really matters to Altschul when it comes to Kathryn and Whitney is that, “They’re friends, so I think that’s more important actually. They’ve really become good friends and support one another.” And after all these years, and some particularly intense screaming matches, she’s right. That they get along at all is a much bigger deal.

8. Wow, Bethany, Wow

One adorable new addition to the show that slipped right out the door is Bethany, Craig’s new pup, and I got the full story from him about the furry friend. His best friend and roommate, Sean, also went through a rough breakup last year which led to him moving into Craig’s house (how great is that house looking, btw?). But the breakup wasn’t just with a significant other, but her dog as well. “I don’t think he ever really got over that,” Conover told me. So when he was away relaxing in the Bahamas, Sean texted him saying he went to an animal shelter and “might have come home with a dog.” Conover responded, “Yeah, of course you came home with a dog, you can’t go to those things and not!” But it’s worked out for everyone. “You don’t know how much you’re missing until you have a furry friend back in the house and someone happy to see you. It’s neat to have her there,” Conover said, clearly on a mission to melt hearts.

Though as Eubanks showed up to his house, she accidentally let the dog slip out the door, and as Conover noted, “Cameran’s uncomfortable around dogs. I didn’t know that.”

“I didn’t think she was crazy about them,” Altschul offered. “Remember I got Chauncey and he was a little rolly polly thing. She liked him, but when they get bigger…” And the two both relayed how funny it is that she’s welcomed the neighbors’ dog, Elvis, into her family. “She finds Elvis on the bed on pillows, she goes crazy,” Altschul said.

9. Another New Lady, Too?

While we were chatting about new gals in his life, I had to acquire about Conover’s date to the dinner party. “Oh Caroline, she’s great,” he said. “She was someone I was hanging out with at the time. She was down in Antigua and I was in the Bahamas and we both live here [in Charleston] and she’s actually from Delaware, too.” So they sure had a lot in common already. “We met a few times and started hanging out, she was nice.” When Altschul noted that she is a “beautiful girl” and that a fellow guest mentioned she looked like Conover’s ex, Olindo, he didn’t seem to notice. “Oh, really? I guess I have a type,” he said.

Where to stream Southern Charm