The Jonas Brothers Relive the Moment Nick Broke Up the Band in Amazon’s ‘Chasing Happiness’

In October 2013, the Jonas Brothers shocked the world when they announced that they were breaking up. At the time, the brothers cited a “deep rift within the band” and “creative differences” as reasons for the split, but it was never quite clear exactly what that meant. Now, almost six years later, we finally have our answer. In their new Prime Video documentary Chasing Happiness, Kevin, Joe, and Nick discuss the “rift” in depth, and they recall the precise moment when Nick decided that “the Jonas Brothers should be no more.” Explains Joe, “I felt betrayed, I felt lied to, I felt angry, numb.”

Much of Chasing Happiness focuses on the Jonas Brothers’ early days: their original contract with Columbia Records, their move to Disney, and their meteoric rise to fame. But about an hour into the doc, things start to shift as the brothers reflect on the shaky period from 2010-2012, when they took a hiatus to pursue individual projects. Joe released a solo album, Nick toured with his band, The Administration, and pursued Broadway gigs, and Kevin had a daughter with his wife, Danielle. The Jonas Brothers got back together in Summer 2012, began recording new music, and prepared for another world tour, but it didn’t last long. Just over a year later, in October 2013, they canceled the tour and announced that they were breaking up for good.

So, what happened? According to Nick, when the band reunited, “everything was different.” With the 2013 world tour rapidly approaching, the brothers were scattered all over the place, both personally and professionally. “We were three people all living different realities of what the Jonas Brothers were,” says Kevin in Chasing Happiness (believe it or not, he’s the true star of this doc). “We lost sight of the fact that we were just a band having a good time. People liked seeing us happy, and we were not happy.”

“We’re about to go do this tour. The reality of it all was starting to hit me,” says Nick. “We’re all so frustrated, and nothing is working. Like, we hate each other, basically.” After weeks of “anxiety” and tension, Nick finally opened up to their father, Paul Kevin Jonas, Sr., who also served as the band’s manager. “[Nick] said, ‘I feel like I’m fighting against something that’s not working. I’ve given everything I have to this music, but I’m going here, Joe’s going here, Kevin’s over there, and I just can’t do it anymore,'” recalls Papa Jonas (his preferred nickname, because why not).

After Nick’s talk with their father, he sat his brothers down and delivered a shocking announcement. “Nick says, ‘As you guys know, things haven’t been the same,” recalls Kevin. “‘And the Jonas Brothers should be no more.'” After staying silent for much of the lead-up, Chasing Happiness finally cuts to Joe. “It was not, ‘My heart’s not in it, and I want to be real with you as band members and brothers. This is where I’m at,'” says Joe, his hurt still palpable all these years later. “It was, ‘The band is over. I want to go do stuff without you guys. And I’ve made up my mind.'”

Fans have known for a while that Nick instigated the Jonas Brothers’ breakup — he confirmed the rumors on Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen in 2016 — but the documentary makes the full extent of the discussion clear.

“Neither one of them were saying anything,” recalls Nick. “I felt betrayed, I felt lied to, I felt angry, numb,” explains Joe. “Joe has shut down. I’m looking at my brother just being destroyed inside,” says Kevin. After a few moments of silence, someone finally spoke up. “Joe said, ‘I have nothing to say to you,'” says Nick. “He was like, ‘You get one taste of solo success and you forget all the work we’ve put in together.'”

“I was 25, 26. This was all I’d known,” says Joe in Chasing Happiness. “This was what I loved more than anything. I loved doing this. And somebody that you loved and cared about so much could take it away from you so quickly, that was — that was heartbreaking.” Joe begins to tear up as he continues, “What hurt the most was that it came from Nick. Because he is my best friend, and I thought that me, Kevin, and Nick were going to do this forever and that it was us against the world, you know?”

Old photo of the Jonas Brothers in the studio
Photo: Amazon Prime Video

“And then Joe finally broke down,” says Kevin. “He was like, ‘You want to be done? Fine. We’re done.'” At that point, Kevin knew they had reached the point of no return (until 2019, that is). “That’s when I knew the band was over. Because Joe and Nick were thick as thieves,” adds Kevin, his voice breaking.

As the brothers explain in Chasing Happiness, their relationship remained tense for many years afterwards. Finally, in 2018, Nick mentioned that he really missed performing with his brothers. “There was no way in hell I would do it again, that was where I was at,” says Joe. “Until I was like, no, I actually miss it.” The brothers began to repair their personal relationship, and only then did they seriously consider getting the band back together. “I really want to have a second chance with them,” says Nick. “So I can enjoy every moment with my brothers. And I can smile more.” The Jonas Brothers couldn’t have written a happier ending.

Chasing Happiness is now available to stream on Amazon Prime Video. Their new album, “Happiness Begins,” debuts this Friday, June 7.

Watch Chasing Happiness on Amazon Prime Video