‘Southern Charm’: Who Is Eliza’s Boyfriend Don? (He’s A Former ‘Bachelorette’ Contestant!)

On tonight’s episode of Southern Charm, we learned a bit more about Eliza Limehouse’s personal life as she visited her family on their plantation, Airy Hall. And while we got the scoop last month on her super scary near-death experience, she let the viewers in on that crazy moment in her life, too.

As Eliza visits with her brother, Chase, and father, Chip, he asks, “How are you feeling after what happened?”

“Cheating death is the weirdest feeling I have ever felt,” Eliza tells him. “I was invited to go on a trip to the Bahamas, with a man I’ve been dating named Don and we were going on his friends’ private plane,” she explains. “We were on the way there but he forgot his passport. So he calls his friend and he’s like, ‘Y’all go without us, we don’t want to make you miss your trip.’ I was ticked. And then later in the day he was like, ‘The plane crashed. It’s gone.'”

“Makes you appreciate your life one million times more,” she tells her dad.

“It makes me appreciate you. I can’t live without you,” he tells her.

Even though this incident brought Eliza and her ex together officially, “It was the saddest and most bizarre and terrible experience of my life,” Eliza told Decider in Charleston last month. “I still to this day have survivor’s guilt. Cheating death is the weirdest feeling. It was horrible. And that’s when [Don and I] got serious because we were like, ‘Holy hell, we almost died together,’ and we realized that we really liked each other.” Ultimately, Eliza says, “He wasn’t the one. I wish the best for him, no ill feelings, even though he may or may not have cheated.”

So who exactly is this Don that we have to thank for forgetting his passport (but not for cheating on sweet Eliza)? Well, it turns out Southern Charm is not the first reality TV show this guy’s appeared on. Don Capodanno was also a contestant on Season 4 of The Bachelorette, DeAnna Pappas’s season.

But Eliza told us that when it comes to his appearance on the Bravo show, “I called him my service animal on the show because they were all a lot nicer to me around him.” Yes, apparently all of the cast. “He and Kathryn love each other. He loves her style. They get each other, they just click.”

Even though we only saw pictures of him tonight, we will be seeing more of Don very soon. “He went to everything with me,” Eliza said. “The cast loved him because most of them already knew him because he had been hanging around here. But he ended up cheating on me and we are no longer.”

It looks as though we’ll get to see him join the cast on their upcoming ski trip, as he couldn’t wait to post pictures from the adventure on his Instagram.

View this post on Instagram

Calm before the storm!…

A post shared by Don Capodanno (@doncapodanno) on

 

Although, it’s not clear if her new pals enjoyed her boyfriend as much as Eliza might think. “I liked her boyfriend a little bit. He’s kind of sloppy,” Austen Kroll told me.

But Naomie Olindo didn’t have many compliments to give, revealing his nickname is “Dirty Don.”

“He tried to get on The Bachelorette, he was kicked off the first episode because he was so creepy and gross,” Naomie said, also calling him “a mini J.D.” referring to the group’s former friend J.D. Madison.

“He would say all this gross stuff about her,” Naomie continued. “The other day he posted something like, ‘This season on Southern Charm see me make some friends, make some enemies, and figure it all out,’ and we’re like, who are you, what are you talking about, you don’t even date anymore.”

Now, Eliza could not be happier in love with her new boyfriend, Struthers McBride. She describes him as “the best human I’ve ever met,” and their relationship is a match made in Southern heaven, as his father is the former mayor of Myrtle Beach, and is friends with Limehouse’s dad and grandfather. The pair have known each other for years, but it wasn’t until Limehouse was hired to model in a wedding photoshoot and was tasked with finding someone to model as the groom. “I was like, ‘Okay, let me think. Who is the hottest man I know?’” He showed up for the day, and now, as Limehouse tells me, “I’ve never experienced this in my whole life. Fireworks, sparks. I think I love this man. And I’m never like that.”

Southern Charm airs Wednesday at 8pm ET/PT on Bravo. 

Where to stream Southern Charm